Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I was put in charge of a side dish for a cook out that the main dish was grilled tacos so I found this recipe and thought it would just be ok. It makes a lot and it does take some time to put together. The fresh ingredients make it great so it's worth the time it takes in chopping! I read reviews where the oil was cut to 1/4 cup so I did change that for mine as well and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again. Everyone loved it and there was not one bite left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Reading 6 green onions – in my mind registered 6 ‘bunches'. Made 50 servings for 25th anniversary. Prepared layers days ahead, put all together hrs. before serving. Started onions, thinking bunches purchased 20 bunches (8 onions /bunch) Some added red onion, cutting red onion easier than green onions. ½ through green onion cutting–REALISED 6 GREEN ONIONS–not 6 bunches! 80 green onions were a little more needed plus red & white onion added. Assembling layers, next-cut up peppers. Mild chili red peppers more cost effective red sweet peppers (@$1.89 each vs. $1.99 lb. chili) used 1 red sweet pepper, lb. mild red chili peppers, + couple green peppers. Next made dressing. Initially got bag of limes. Realizing needed more, purchased several individual limes. Individual limes juiced easily. Bagged limes pain juicing. Lesson learned - higher quality limes difference was pennies, labor juicing – BIG DIFFERENCE. Now I’ll buy limes individually Purchase garlic bulk cloves then freeze. Pureed frozen garlic w/ lime juice & cayenne. Many reviewers 2x lime juice & dramatically reduced oil. So did I. Recipe 50 servings = 4 cups oil I used 1 cup. Cilantro, tomatoes & avocado last, day serving put all together. I’ll include recipe in thank you cards. Modest amount left over, many stated this does not store well, they were certainly not as wonderful as initial serving – but a great left over. This was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Holy schmoly, this is a winner. I omitted the bell peppers because I don't care for them, and used boiled corn on the cob instead of frozen. It is so delicious! If I could improve one thing, it would be to add more avocado, perhaps increasing the amount to 2 whole avocados. All the same, I will be making this easy salad again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
So if you are too tired or lazy to cut up all the veggies I used some fresh salsa I had on hand and mixed it with the corn black beans avocado lime and I used knorr tomato seasoning to add a bit more flavor. You don't even need the oil and it's a super healthy snack my kid loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
EASY to make. I reduced the oil to a 1/3 cup... still works great. Fab taste and sooo good for you! Fresh cilantro makes it tho... don't skimp there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was a great recipe! I did everything as it says except I added quinoa and my husband loved it! Definitely will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Great! Served with grilled chicken, and the next day served as a appetizer with tortilla chips! Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved it and will definitely make it again! Took lots of tips from other reviewers such as upping the lime, cutting back on the oil as well as how much the dressing changes when sitting over night. So, since I was making it just for me, I kept the dressing in a container and added as I ate it which kept the flavors bright and fresh. Also, one clove of garlic isn't enough and it could even use more cayenne. Oh, and I also added the avocado as I went so it didn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved this...but far too much dressing. I will reduce the amount of olive oil next time and it will be perfect. A great, fresh dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 989) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States