Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Great bean salad! I added much more lime juice, more garlic, a bit more salt and reduced the oil. Plus, I did equal amounts of corn and beans. Also, to avoid "mushiness", I added the tomato and avacado very last, after mixing the dressing in with the other ingredients. I gave it one last toss just before serving to coat the avacado and tomato. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
One of the best recipes on this site. You MUST use fresh lime juice- not that icky stuff in a plastic lime- if you want great flavor. I have made this recipe more times than I can count and there's always half a dozen people at any party who station themselves in front of it and just chow it down all night. Tonight I made it with a little twist- I added 8 oz. of bowtie pasta and doubled the dressing to compenstate. It makes a great southwestern pasta salad! Hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BINDERSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This salad is so yummy and super versatile. It’s great by itself, or for a full dinner we like to grill some chicken breasts and throw it all on baked corn tortillas with lettuce for a tostada salad. The only changes to the actual salad we make are that we use finely diced purple onion instead of the green onion and add a bit more spice to the dressing. I’m not a cilantro fan by any means, but I think it’s vital to this salad. I just chop it very fine and use a little less. The only problem I have with this salad is that it doesn’t make the best leftovers. It’s tasty the next day, but the tang of the lime and the cilantro can’t survive the cold of the ‘fridge overnight and it loses it’s ‘zing.’ Definitely the best on the day it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Good salad but too much oil as written. Decreasiing oil to 1/4 cup still maintains the integrity of the dressing and makes for a healthier salad. Helpful Hints: Grill your corn instead of using frozen, add 1/2 tsp of cumin and please make sure you use FRESH lime juice not the concentrate. Definitely improves the flavor. Salad is best eaten the day it is prepared as the dressing tends to "break down" and lose it's zip over time. Note: Try serving this as a dip with tortilla chips ~ Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
We LOVED this salad! I made this healthier by decreasing the olive oil to a quarter cup and increasing the fresh lime juice to a half cup, and the dressing was perfect. Zippy! I can't wait to dig into the leftovers (it makes tons!!). I can see myself making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This is very good! For a lower fat alternative to the oil based dressing - replace all the oil with 3/4 cup tomato juice and add 1/4 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. oregano and half a seeded jalepeno, process until smooth. Either way this is a simple and very delicious recipe. I also add crushed baked tortilla chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This is pretty good, but look at the recipe for avocado salsa by Barbara Vinson. Add a can of beans and fresh cilantro to that one, chop it a little chunky, and you've got two very simmilar recipes. I've tried both, and I like the dressing on Barbara's better...just more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This salad was very popular at a pot luck dinner I went to last night and I had several requests for the recipe. I liked it too, but thought the taste of the cilantro overpowered the other flavors in the salad. I will make this again for my family but will reduce the cilantro to maybe 1/4 c. and increase the garlic. I also increased the amount of lime juice (to 1/2 c.) and reduced the olive oil (to 1/3 c.)... the olive oil could be reduced even more as other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
This is the best cold bean salad recipe ever!! I made it this weekend for a birthday party and got rave reviews. Everyone wanted the recipe. I used frozen white corn instead of yellow. I agree with other reviewers of this recipe....the cilantro is key....dont omit....the flavors are incredible. There was enough dressing, so it wasn't dry at all...and it was a very "fresh" tasting salad. Will make over and over....perfect bbq side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is great following the orig. ingredients. Why do you folks rate a recipe if you havent made it per the instructions. Try it first, write your review and then make it again with your changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States