Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Best thing to take to a party hands down! Have made it twice and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheznoelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is an amazing dish with tons of flavor. It looks best just after you've tossed the ingredients together. The next day it tastes even better but the looks do suffer as it wilts. It has become one of my favorite recipes for pot lucks because it is always different and popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Added chopped avocado and cumin as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Loved It! Traded red onions for the green and sliced some cherry tomatoes - glad I did because the tomatoes held up under the stirring. Go easy on the salt until you taste-it needs some...but the beans and corn may have been salted in processing. Lessening the oil makes no difference in taste, but sure takes down the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very flavorful and filling! Serve with tortilla chips or toasted soft tortilla shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a great summer salad, the guys like it also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Watts
Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing!! Made this for a BBQ on Labor Day and it was a hit. Excellent flavor... At least the way I made it. I left cilantro out and up the red pepper and garlic. Left the oil and lime ratio the same. I don't like green onion so I sautéed white onion and added the peppers (red and orange). It was very yummy!! Did I mention this was fabulous? Well IT WAS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinrueff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very good fresh taste. I use garlic salt because I didn't have fresh on hand. Turned out great. I also add tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I was put in charge of a side dish for a cook out that the main dish was grilled tacos so I found this recipe and thought it would just be ok. It makes a lot and it does take some time to put together. The fresh ingredients make it great so it's worth the time it takes in chopping! I read reviews where the oil was cut to 1/4 cup so I did change that for mine as well and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again. Everyone loved it and there was not one bite left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Reading 6 green onions – in my mind registered 6 ‘bunches'. Made 50 servings for 25th anniversary. Prepared layers days ahead, put all together hrs. before serving. Started onions, thinking bunches purchased 20 bunches (8 onions /bunch) Some added red onion, cutting red onion easier than green onions. ½ through green onion cutting–REALISED 6 GREEN ONIONS–not 6 bunches! 80 green onions were a little more needed plus red & white onion added. Assembling layers, next-cut up peppers. Mild chili red peppers more cost effective red sweet peppers (@$1.89 each vs. $1.99 lb. chili) used 1 red sweet pepper, lb. mild red chili peppers, + couple green peppers. Next made dressing. Initially got bag of limes. Realizing needed more, purchased several individual limes. Individual limes juiced easily. Bagged limes pain juicing. Lesson learned - higher quality limes difference was pennies, labor juicing – BIG DIFFERENCE. Now I’ll buy limes individually Purchase garlic bulk cloves then freeze. Pureed frozen garlic w/ lime juice & cayenne. Many reviewers 2x lime juice & dramatically reduced oil. So did I. Recipe 50 servings = 4 cups oil I used 1 cup. Cilantro, tomatoes & avocado last, day serving put all together. I’ll include recipe in thank you cards. Modest amount left over, many stated this does not store well, they were certainly not as wonderful as initial serving – but a great left over. This was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States