Black Bean and Corn Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Great fresh and healthy side. Quick and easy for a weeknight. The lime dressing is perfect, though I used about 1/4 cup of oil like others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made without any changes and received many compliments at a Memorial Day cookout. Nice light side to go with all of the heavier food. I might try fresh corn cut from the cob next time to make it even better if I have more prep time to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Okay I have to admit I made this salad without the black beans because I didn't want to open a whole can just to experiment with a new recipe, but I actually came away pleased. In fact my recipe was way off as written (I know it bugs some of you when members rate recipes they've changed) but the good thing about this salad was I brought it for lunch as an experiment, and didn't head toward the vending machine in frustration that afternoon to indulge in a giant bag of Doritos. I will make this again and feel good about what I'm eating for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Didn't add avacado, added Balsalmic vinegar to sauce and less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stac360
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used lemon and line juice and less dressing to bring out the natural flavors of the salad. Soooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was delicious. I modified with only two green onions and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I served it with Chef John's Flour Tortillas and Spanish rice. My husband said I hit it out of the ball park. Darlene A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made it exactly as written and it was extremely bland. It made no sense to me, because all of the things that went in it are delicious. But here's the deal; The olive oil pretty much cuts the lime taste completely. I would recommend either omitting it completely or severely decreasing the amount. It also needs more spices, so crank up that cayenne (if you have a taste for spicy) and maybe add some cumin & garlic powder. Also, frozen corn is weird and gives a bad texture. I would recommend canned or even fresh. I gave this two stars because it's a really good concept, it just needs some work to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My 3 year old son loved this!!! Very easy, pretty and yummy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I omitted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is so delicious! And healthy. I add extra cilantro, simply because I adore cilantro. Other than that, no changes to recipe were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States