Black Bean and Corn Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipe is universal. You could eat it cold or warm it up and use with grilled chicken or fish. Goes great with brown rice when you add a little bit of honey to heated bb&c salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My family would barely touch this. It does not look very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
The first time I tried this, I thought it was very good, but it wasn't as zippy as I was expecting. I assumed it was the salad dressing I chose. When I tried it again, I halved the recipe, but accidently added the full amount of spices. That turned out to be the best mistake I ever made because this time it had the kick I was looking for. So I always double the spices now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was the closest recipe to a black bean and corn salad that I had at a pot luck years ago. I remembered most of the ingredients but had to make a few changes. I didn't use the vinagrette. I just used the juice of one lemon, instead of canned corned, I used frozen Hanover corn microwaved for about 90 seconds. I used a red onion and different color peppers to give it a festive color. Added more cumin and red pepper flakes for some kick. Goes great with fish or grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Was ok. Not very popular at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was a huge hit. I used fresh corn and fresh cilantro though and right before I served it I added fresh-squeezed lime juice. I think it needed it to doctor up the bottled vinigarette dressing. My non-black bean eaters were converted1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was great! My entired family really liked it and it's a common Saturday lunch in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I made this for a cook-out this past weekend and everyone loved it. I did make a few changes. I added the juice of 2 limes, because I found the balsamic to be slightly overpowering. I also added chopped jalapeno (sp?), because I wanted it to be a little spicier. I made it the day before and used some that night as a topping for grilled tuna. It was delicious. In fact, I'm getting ready to make another batch now. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Very good. I tried marinating it for just a couple of hours and hubby hated it. He tried it again two days later and LOVED it! Marinating over night (at least) is the secret to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Excellent salad! I made this with fresh cilantro because it seemed wrong to do it any other way. Pretty versatile, too (on tortilla, with chicken, add rice, etc). Will be using this recipe all summer. One thing to note, this seems to make more than six servings. My finished product was at least ten cups, and I only added 1/2 cup red bell pepper into the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States