Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by DADAY
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I think the Monterey Jack cheese makes this! I usually wouldn't cook Mexican with Monterey Jack cheese. I cooked mine in the oven as other's suggested with broiling for 2 to 3 minutes at the end for browning (don't forget to spray with non-stick cooking spray!) I doubled the salsa and did not add the in sugar at all. Mine made 9 healthy but small quesadillas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My first time making quesadillas. I really enjoyed these....my fiancé' who " doesn't like Mexican food" thought these were fantastic. I watched the video to help with flipping the quesadilla while cooking. I also think putting cheese below and on top of the filling before you put on the top quesadilla and letting it melt a few minutes before flipping helps keeps the contents from spilling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These were delicious. I used agave nectar instead of brown sugar (2 tsp) and 1/2 tsp cumin as well. I did what many people suggested and baked them at 350 for 8min. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yum! Always great! So very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is a great basic and quick yummy recipe. We were in a hurry so I mixed ingredients in bowl. I used onion powder instead of fresh onions, added cumin, and left out oil, sugar and butter. I used a nonstick pan, placed tortilla in pan with the bean and corn mixture along with leftover chicken shredded and then added cheese, placed another tortilla. Heated it for 1-2 minutes, flipped it carefully for 1-2 more minutes. Topped with more salsa and a touch of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is delicious as is. But the second time I made it, I felt it needed more authentic Mexican flavor. I added 1/4 cup of fresh chopped cilantro, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin, juice of 1/2 of a lime, and one chopped fresh jalapeno pepper. If you don't want to mess with all the "flipping" of a quesadilla... make it a "toasted" or "grilled" burrito style. That is, put the contents on one tortilla, roll it up burrito style... then either grill, broil, or put in a pan... to toast the tortilla on all sides. It makes it less messy to eat... but the results are the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have made this several times and my husband I love it. I make it as written, but skip the butter. I use a 10" tortilla, lay it flat on my griddle, let warm for several seconds, flip it over, spread cheese over whole thing, put filling on half and fold over. Cheese melts quickly and glues it together. I grill until it is hot and crisp, flipping once. I like mine with homemade pico de gallo and sour cream. The lime and cilantro and fresh tomato tartness really compliments and balances the sweetness. My husband likes guacamole with his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and delicious!!! Shared it with others, all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Easy fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I just grab a rotisserie chicken from walmart, break it up and boom! Quick and easy meal that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THILL2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States