Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
We've used this recipe twice now, and both times it was absolutely delicious! Now, I made one fortunate mistake when made it the first time: I accidentally bought (organic) refried black beans instead regular black beans (duh, I know). In any case, I had to do something. Therefore, I prepared and cooked all of the ingredients exactly as stated in the recipe; however, I cooked the refried black beans separately. I then layered the tortilla with cheese, corn mix, refried beans, and light cheese and cooked it as normal. It was delicious... absolutely delicious! It was so good that we used the refried black beans the second time. However, this time I cooked the onions; added the corn, brown sugar, red pepper, and salsa; cooked it for two minutes; and then added the refried beans to the corn mix. I constantly stirred the mix for about three minutes on medium/medium-high heat, and then let it simmer on low heat while I added the cheese to the tortilla in another pan. Using a spatula, I then placed a fair amount of the mix in the center of the tortilla, followed by a little cheese. As I placed the second tortilla on the top, I lightly pressed in the center to spread out the mix. It was even better than the first time!!! This recipe is a keeper! (I also recommend using one tortilla instead of two. Add cheese and the corn-bean mix to half of the tortilla, folded it over, and cook as normal. They’re much easier to manage in the pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is a great combo of flavors, but the recipe is lacking in seasoning and (for me) heat. I used black beans cooked with garlic, onions, and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. Added drained fire roasted tomatoes and used leftover grilled corn off the cob. Layered low fat jack cheese on multigrain tortillas with spicy bean mix and caramelized sweet onions. Served with 0% FAGE greek yogurt & fresh guacamole. It was surprisingly light, spicy and delicious! Perfect with a Corona and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This ranks among my family's favorites. We generally use corn tortillas, and spray Pam instead of oil. I mix up a batch and stick in fridge. The boys make it for themselves for lunch or a snack. They beg me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I prefer not using the sugar and I topped it off with diced tomatoes and cilantro and sour cream....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Five stars for a great recipe and base model for all types of additions and changes! My first change was to use the large 10 inch tortillas, filled one half to the middle, folded, put on med- hot griddle, adding a second quesadilla fold edges meeting in the middle. Very easy to turn over with spatula inserted from the open side, nothing falls out, and I use plenty of two percent Mexican cheese shreds for glue. Onion, refried beans, salsa, cooked shredded chicken, taco or chili powder, chopped jalapeños from a jar, heated in same skillet as onion was cooked til consistency thickened, add cheese last, layered on tortilla half then on griddle, no mess. Served with sour cream, salsa and chopped lettuce. Bill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Grace approved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valleyfield, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I make these as is and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
You definitely don't miss the meat at all. I really liked these. Added some cilantro and jalepenos and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgm0004
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was okay, my husband was not crazy about it but I may make it for lunch for myself, it reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Great recipe- it's become one of my staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States