Black Bean and Corn Pasta with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
After reading other reviews I knew this recipe was in need of flavor so I used Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle seasoning on my chicken. I also added onion and cilantro to the beans, tomatoes, and corn. Since this recipe has southwest flavor going on I put it on flour tortillas and sprinkled a little mexican cheese on top. It was delicious!! My husband loved it and there were still left overs for the next day. I know this recipe will be made frequently at our house. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Definitely a little bland-could use some fresh cilantro and green chiles to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
A good quick and simple meal. I used a 7 oz. box of small shell pasta. I used triple the amount of pepper sauce & worchestshire added about 2 tsp. of catalina salad dressing and a sprinkle of garlic salt. Also used diced tomato with bell pepper. I think spanish style stewed tomatoes would give it more flavor. I served it with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Very quick and tastey recipe! I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added green peppers to the ingredients. First, I sauteed garlic and onion, added diced green pepper, and then proceeded on with the rest of the recipe as written above. In addition to the stewed tomatoes, I also added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is a good recipe with alterations. People are right when they say it's a little tasteless. But that's easily fixed. First of all, I used very sweet corn. I also added a bit of cumin and served it (without pasta) in tortillas with fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
Didnt care for this one. Dont waste your time making this. No flavor,and I followed the recipe exactly. Hot or cold it's no good. I drenched it in hot sause and still nothing. Also the recipe makes about 3 lbs of this stuff. I cant give the stuff away! BLAH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this with half the amount of noodles and twice the amount of corn (who doesn't love sweet corn from the summer). It kind of came out as a chili. When I tried it again with the correct amount of noodles, they took over the meal and took out some of the rich flavor. Definitely try it with less noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I loved this meal. It was quick and easy and called for basic normally stocked ingredients. It tasted great. and was filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lucas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe but I added fresh cilantro and squeezed some lime in also. Those two additions made a big difference in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I really liked this recipe - it uses just a minor amount of meat and tastes like a gulosh without the potatoes. I carmalized some scallions and then cooked the chicken which added a nice flavor. Also - topping with a little cheddar cheese added to the flavor. I also mix in some italian dressing which gives a nice flavor and makes for a really tasty cold pasta salad. My husband has high cholesterol and finding a recipe that will fill him up without being heavy on animal products and carbs is not easy. He LOVED this and even ate the leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States