Black Bean and Corn Pasta with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I did not have any chicken on hand when I made this, so it went without. I used a can of tomatoes with jalapeños for an extra kick. In addition to the listed ingredients, I added 1/2 cup of chopped red onion. I also added a few more shakes of Texas Pete than just 1 dash. I wasn't sure how this would taste with pasta, but I was pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I didn't really think it had a lot of flavor. I thought the noodles were a little out of place
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
It was really yummy, my husband and I didn't see a need to add anything else! But I will admit it wasn't too filling! Guess we should've served it with a buncha sides...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was a nice light and healthy dinner! wouldn't change much but I did use bow tie pasta instead of the shells and found that adding some fresh chopped cilantro really kicked up the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this with half the amount of noodles and twice the amount of corn (who doesn't love sweet corn from the summer). It kind of came out as a chili. When I tried it again with the correct amount of noodles, they took over the meal and took out some of the rich flavor. Definitely try it with less noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I should have listened to the other reviews and skipped this meal. Not much flavor and the texures were just odd. We served it as a salad and used salsa as the dressing. That made it just okay. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Not a great recipe. Read the other reviews and added ingredients accordingly. I sauteed the chicken in olive oil with four cloves of garlic and cumin, added two fresh chopped tomatoes in addition to what the recipe called for. Used an extra 1/2 cup of corn. There was too much pasta to fit the rest of the recipe, which is partially why it's so bland. I also added a cup of fresh cilantro and lots more than just a dash of hot sauce. This has obviously been prepared for young children. We liked the flavors, but it was too blah. A good start to creating your own meal. But not a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
After reading other reviews I knew this recipe was in need of flavor so I used Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle seasoning on my chicken. I also added onion and cilantro to the beans, tomatoes, and corn. Since this recipe has southwest flavor going on I put it on flour tortillas and sprinkled a little mexican cheese on top. It was delicious!! My husband loved it and there were still left overs for the next day. I know this recipe will be made frequently at our house. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I made it as written and it just didn't taste right: the chicken and tomatos over pasta. I definitely wouldn't make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The flavor was alright, but served over noodles creates a strange texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States