Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Quite delicious! I added an extra squeeze of lemon, one more clove of garlic and excluded the water as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
The best hummus I've made! Bye Bye little plastic tubs at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUKWONOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Elmo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this last night for a late evening snack and followed it to the letter. My husband and I loved it! DH suggested it would be good as a sandwich spread when making wraps. I think I know what I'm doing with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Instead of using curry, I substituted 1 tsp of cumin. I also added more garlic and lemon for a stronger flavor. It was one of the best hummus recipes I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We used full cans of both black beans and chickpeas so we doubled everything else. I made this for my family and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
So good! Was skeptical about the black beans but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have already made this several times! I love it and it had tons of flavor for me! Make sure you add fresh garlic and add more or less of the ingredients to suit your taste! It's so easy and so delicious! My good friend said it was the best hummus she has ever had! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I started with Holly's Hummus recipe: I doubled the recipe, estimated the measurements, substituted lime for lemon juice and omitted the cilantro. I left the pimento in the green olives. Added powdered hot red pepper. It was good, even very good, but not great. So I looked at the Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus recipe and borrowed the black beans and curry powder from it. If I had grilled sweet red peppers on hand I would have added them also. I had organic yogurt on hand but didn't use it. It came out great and with 2 cans of chick peas and one can of black beans it was enough for me to bring to the girls at work for another game of "Look what I made!" I gave it 5 stars because it was exactly what I was looking for as a base to make my own. I gave the same review to Holly's Hummus recipe since they are both very similar and yet have individually important ingredients. Credit to you both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Oh my this is my new favorite bean dip/spread/hummus!! Absolutely wonderful! The only change I made was to leave out the olive oil, use less water, double the garlic and left out the curry. My daughter loved it as well and it made a great dip for a healthy evening snack with lowfat pretzels. We will try it on bread for sandwiches tomorrow. We WILL be making this one often!! Simple, inexpensive, healthy and delicious! A definite winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Excellent! I did add a bit more garlic (personal preference) and omitted the yogurt (simply for lack of it), and it came out perfectly. The curry powder is an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States