Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was GREAT! As other reviewers suggested I subbed 1 tsp cumin for the curry powder. Super easy to make and super yummy AND healthy! I made it for a BBQ and got a lot of compliments. I love that it doesn't use tahini as that is very hard to find in my grocery stores. Will be a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
For a little sweetness try vanilla yogurt instead of plain and omit the curry powder. I certainly enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Ok, I'll admit this was fabulous, but I made a lot of changes, based on what I had in the pantry. I used a large can of black beans no garbanzo beans and substituted sour cream for the yogurt. Then, I only used a sprinkle of curry powder and added some cumin. After sitting in the fridge all night, the flavors had blended together beautifully. Yes, it's a funny color but with some pita chips it was yummy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was plain at best...simply a spin off of refried beans in my opinion. Who ever said this was "the best hummus they have ever had" has obviously never had hummus- I laughed when I read that their "Indian friend" raved over this. The only thing I could do to get this eaten was smear it on whole wheat tortillas, add cheese and sour cream- and tell my family it was bean burritos. very disappointing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I agree with some others; this isn't exactly hummus. However, I gave it a go because I really liked the idea of using blacks bean and yogurt. I found the consistency somewhat waning, and the yogurt taste distracting. I think I will try this again for sure because I love the idea of it, but I'll probably play around with the olive oil (i.e add much more and not use yogurt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Just made this for the first time, it is easy to make and very good. I decided to make it a little more spicy and added 4 fresh jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
First, I read other reviews for tips and alterations and then added my own ... I also substituted the curry for cumin - I love cumin and used 3 heaping tsps (double the recipe). I didn't have lemon juice, however I had lime juice concentrate and used 3 tbsps of that and just a splash of water. I too pumped up the amount of garlic (2 cloves) and the end result was absolutely delicious! This dip is very creamy and I wonder if I couldn't play w/ the ratio of garbanzo to black beans so that it's truer to a heartier hummus consistency. I feel like I'd like to add fresh cilantro to the mix as well! This is a great, easy, healthful recipe that's foolproof and can be customized to taste! So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turnin40EatinBetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Very Yummy!! Thanks for a great tahini-free recipe, I can't get it in my area. This is the 3rd recipe for hummus I have tried and the 3rd time's the charm! I like the flavor of the 2 beans together though the color is a little unappealing. I didn't have any curry and didn't use salt or pepper either. I also used the liquid from the chick peas instead of the water. The blender worked better than the food processor, it was much smoother than my first 2 tries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Very good! The black beans made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
i'm sorry, but hummus without tahini is not hummus. it's bean dip. that being said, this was cheap to make and reasonably tasty. i'm vegan, so i subbed a bit of almond milk for the yoghurt. nice recipe for a cheap and healthful dip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States