Black Bean and Chickpea Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is my standby recipe for life! I substitute one zucchini and one yellow squash for the corn and add a few handfuls of fresh spinach. Sharp cheddar cheese on top is a great addition. I've also added a cup or two of cooked red quinoa with good results! I don't puree the mixture either... it's nice seeing all the vegetables and it's easier anyway! I make a huge pot of it and freeze it for a week's worth of healthy dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Wojdowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made this without the turkey and substituted vegetable broth because I am a vegetarian. This recipe is great. I actually cooked it over a month ago and froze it. I am just tasting it for the first time today and I am so happy. This was a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I am sure the recipe is fine as is. As a diabetic, made some modification and it was AMAZING. I omitted the corn and cut the tomatoes to two 10 oz cans. I doubled both beans and used low sodium versions. I like spicy so I also doubled the cumin. I am not a fan of carrots, so I cut them thin. I used to be a beef + deep fry it and dip it in ranch kind of guy, so changing my diet has not been easy. Recipes like this are INVALUABLE to me. Sooo good and sooo healthy. Thank you for sharing this recipe. One last note... I have seen people omit pureeing a portion of it. IMO then it would be a soup not a chili. Do what you want...just saying that if you want chili you need to puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Giving this 5 stars as its absolutely delicious. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My go-to chili recipe now! Love the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Breeden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this just as it is laid out here except I used canned corn. We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe is SO easy it's unbelievable! I halved the recipe and it still amounted to a lot! Instead of canned beans and peas, I used dried ones. I also added Sriracha sauce at the end to give it more kick. Definitely a favourite and monthly entree. For next time though, I think I'm going to puree just the veggies and chickpeas, and leave out the black beans. Something about the colour of the puree with black beans included turned me off... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Black Bean & Chick Pea Chili Haiku: "So many colors, made up this 'rainbow' chili! Glad I made a ton!" I took a chance and made a bunch of this (w/ the suggested ground turkey), and froze half; but wow, this was awesome, and I look forward to eating those leftovers, tucked away in the freezer for the next chilitch that I get. I followed the recipe exactly (ingredients), but put everything in the crockpot b4 work in the a.m., and came home to wonderful wafting aromas; missed the part about pureeing part of it, which I'm glad that I did, b/c I love that earthy bite of chickpeas. Awesome. Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very easy to make and delicious! Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
this was quite good. A really nice alternative to a chilli with hamburger and sooo much more healthy. Will definitely make again but might add a bit more spice to kick it up as it is quite mild. None the less, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States