Black Bean and Chickpea Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My go-to chili recipe now! Love the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Breeden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this just as it is laid out here except I used canned corn. We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe is SO easy it's unbelievable! I halved the recipe and it still amounted to a lot! Instead of canned beans and peas, I used dried ones. I also added Sriracha sauce at the end to give it more kick. Definitely a favourite and monthly entree. For next time though, I think I'm going to puree just the veggies and chickpeas, and leave out the black beans. Something about the colour of the puree with black beans included turned me off... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Black Bean & Chick Pea Chili Haiku: "So many colors, made up this 'rainbow' chili! Glad I made a ton!" I took a chance and made a bunch of this (w/ the suggested ground turkey), and froze half; but wow, this was awesome, and I look forward to eating those leftovers, tucked away in the freezer for the next chilitch that I get. I followed the recipe exactly (ingredients), but put everything in the crockpot b4 work in the a.m., and came home to wonderful wafting aromas; missed the part about pureeing part of it, which I'm glad that I did, b/c I love that earthy bite of chickpeas. Awesome. Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very easy to make and delicious! Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
this was quite good. A really nice alternative to a chilli with hamburger and sooo much more healthy. Will definitely make again but might add a bit more spice to kick it up as it is quite mild. None the less, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Pretty good - omitted the turkey and skipped the puree. Also added some minced garlic and chopped celery and simmered on low for about an hour. Served over brown rice - very colorful, low fat and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I followed the directions exactly...it was excellent! I added sour cream and cheese...yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I use AllRecipes.com a lot, but rarely write reviews. But this was so amazing and easy that I just had to let everyone know. I cut the recipe in half, but used the full can of both types of beans. I also used over a pound of ground turkey. Because of these modifications it was very thick, but we loved it. And it was even better the next day! Thanks, Jenny, for sharing this recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUE2MIAMIU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This dish is phenomenal. Pureeing a portion of the chili makes it so much heartier. I tried it without the turkey and didn't even miss it. This was a hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States