Black Bean and Artichoke Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I do a lot of vegan cooking so we try new stuff all the time. Both my boyfriend and I liked this recipe, but I recommend a few changes. One: don't drain and rinse the black beans; they don't "boil" when there's no liquid in them. Learned this the hard way, d'oh! Two: They need spices, or they're a wee bit bland. I added two teaspoons of chili powder, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of cumin to the artichoke/onion mix. Three: I added a chopped red pepper in along with the onions, garlic, and artichokes. Purely my own taste. Four: I recommend grilling these or sauteeing them after you've assembled the burritos. It keeps them together much better, and gives them a little crunch (assuming you like that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was very very very good! I did make a few alterations... I left out tomatoes and added a cup of rice and some cut up chicken breast cooked in taco seasoning. I also cooked the beans and artichokes together in a pot and mashed them up. Very flavorful and easy to make. Both my fiance and I loved it! It's a wonderful starter recipe, there's lots you can add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crevoiserat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These were great. I did modify the recipe to a certain degree. I washed the beans and added a cup of water and let the cook out, once they were almost done, I added in salt, pep,garlic powder, paprika, chili powder and cumin powder to the beans. When I cooked the artichokes I also added in green onions, jalapeño pepper and a tomato to the artichoke mixture and I seasoned with some salt as well. I also made some cilantro lime rice for the burritos. To each burrito in addition to the beans, rice, and artichokes I added in salsa and cheese. These were great, a very good summer burrito with fresh flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
SO good!! It only took me a half hour, but I was mostly standing at the stove durning that time. I only got 3 large burritos out of it - I'll definitely double the recipe. I was surprised by how flavorful it was - it was truly delicious. I tossed some paprika into the beans and spinach in the artichokes, which was good. I also loaded on the salsa. Next time I don't think I will, because I like a dense burrito. Still, it was delicious, and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by like10thousand

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was a great recipe- but required a couple modifications (albeit small ones) to make it perfect. Like others, I used one pan to save on clean up. I added the diced tomato to the pan during the last few minutes of cooking. With the diced tomato, (I used 1.5) the serving size listed here was closer to correct. I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and grilled them on the George Foreman. I then sliced avocados and placed the slices on top of each burrito, along with a squirt of lemon juice. After that, they were so great! My husband told me it was the best meal he'd had in a long time. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I love this recipe! However I drop the garlic and the tomatoes and use a fajita seasoning on the artichokes and onions. I put salsa and cheese into the burritos and then put them on the george foreman grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This was perfect for a weekday meal; easy and quick. I added scallions and used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar. topped them off with cilantro and plenty of spicy salsa. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I never would have thought to put artichokes in a burrito, but these are great, and I've made them multiple times now. I don't bother waiting for the beans to become pasty -- I just throw them in the pan after I've sauteed the artichokes for a little while and cook them until they were warm. Per others' suggestions, I add some seasoning -- cumin, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes -- to both the artichokes and the beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Very tasty. I used a mexican combo cheese mix (Cheddar, Monterey Jack, Queso Quesadilla and Asadero) but actually liked them better without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
We liked this. It could have used a little something to moisten it a bit more (salsa instead of just tomatoes, maybe), and it benefitted from a little hot sauce. We'll definitely be eating it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States