Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vincent Murinigo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
It came out perfect, born and raised in New York, always have the house stocked up of black and whites, now I know how to make them, perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was ok, but The Best Rolled Cookies from this site beats this one in taste and simplicity. Just add 4-5T milk and the zest from one whole lemon to that recipe, then follow the tips here for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I liked the consistency of these cookies, but I didn't think the overall taste was that great. I will try them again and add more lemon extract and probably a bit more sugar next time. I like the lemon flavor in Black & White cookies and I didn't really taste any in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made recipe as is. Nice cake like big cookies. Just like the bakeries sell as far as taste and bigness goes. I made 6" diameter cookies and this recipe made 15 cookies. Love the history on these and knowing that originally they were made from leftover cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Lovely! Brought them to a get together, and everyone was raving! I just made 2 replacements. I replaced the lemon essence with the zest of one lemon (had a good lemon flavor, put less in if you don't want to feel the lemon) I replaced the cake flour with regular flour, substituting 2 tablespoons of each cup of flour for 2 tablespoons corn starch. I was worried about the result, since I didn't have a beater and just mixed everything with a potato smasher, and then when I added the liquid to the butter/sugar, it looked all chunky!!!! But, when I added in the flour it mixed in well. No problems. I definitely will be making these again. Who knew they were so simple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is a very good cookie. It is great with the black and white frosting but is also great as a plain cookie. To me this is the mark of a good cookie, when it does not need the extra stuff on it to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wolfy
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe! I use regular salted butter and just omit the 1/2 tsp salt. I recommend using parchment paper instead of butter the sheet. The dough is kind of sticky, and getting it to form a perfect circle can be hard. The easiest way is to put the dough in a piping bag and squeeze it out to form the circles any size you want. To get the really dark color for the "Black" icing, you must use bittersweet chocolate or dutched cocoa power (I like Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa). Just mix the cocoa power with a little melted butter, and then add to the powered sugar icing. As other raters have suggested, you should just make the white icing first and cover half of all cookies, then add the chocolate to the remaining icing. I found I needed more icing than the recipe made, so i just added more powered sugar and boiling water. One additional note: I wasn't able to brush the icing on, mine was pretty thick, which I think is better, so I just spead it on with a little metal spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Like many other bakers I used the ingredient and procedural modifications suggested by the Kathy and hoosier2b postings. My outcome was fantastic!! The crumb of the cookie and flavor were perfect as was the presentation! I yielded about 13 4" to 5" cookies by using the 1/4 cup scoop. HOWEVER, does anyone have a suggestion as to how to store the cookies so that the surface is not damaged?? Otherwise a great recipe that will be duplicated! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Alright. I made these, and either I seriously screwed up something, or they just aren't very good. They ended up being overly chewy and puffy, and the icing didn't really help with the flavor of them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
these cookies came out wonderfully! Brought me back to my childhood. I did make some minor changes, i used 1 3/4 cup AP flour and used white chocolate chips for the white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYMBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Pevely, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States