Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Man, this cookie was so difficult to make and it turned out all hard! It took a lot of time and effort and was not really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
VERY VERY CLOSE TO NY STYLE BLACK AND WHITES. THEY DO TAKE ALOT OF TIME TO MAKE BUT YOU WONT BE SORRY. THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
These are time consuming but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Wow! I made these last night for my little one and he was so excited! They are his favorite. Next time I would have to go with the others and make more frosting. I had way more batter which I ended up throwing away. I had no problem with speading on either the white or chocolate icing with a knife. After I did...I put them in the frige for a few minutes and they hardened perfectly. I gave one to my son and he said they were the best he has ever had! He also said that I could not give any away :) Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Living in London where you can't get Black and White cookies, I was desperate to find this childhood favourite recipe!! I thought the consistency was good, and it tasted nice, but not the true Black and White cookie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
My whole family loved these cookies!! Especially my brother who would definitely tell me if they sucked. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
These are just like the black & whites in the bakery, if not better! I used hoosier2b's suggestions for the flour, lemon, salt, and chocolate icing adjustments- the cookies were big and baked up fluffy and cakelike, just like they should! WATCH them in the oven-- they're done right around 11 minutes, when the edges are just starting to turn golden. The icing won't bleed or look messy if you apply the white first and let it dry completely before applying the chocolate. Make sure that your icing remains warm while you're putting it on the cookies: it's easier to spread on and will dry shiny, just like the ones in the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I've never been to NY, but I had to try these after seeing them on Seinfeld. I have to say, I wasn't too impressed. I loved the cake-like consistency of the dough, but the taste was very bland. And without more practice with the icing, these looked like a 3 year old made them! I think next time I'm in the mood for black and whites, I'll stick to my traditional sugar cookie recipe and (with more practice) use the black and white frosting from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I burned the first batch massively, since I just set the oven timer for 20 minutes and walked away. The second batch I only cooked for 10 minutes and they were just right. I agree that they puff up too far - I wish I had read these reviews before I made them - I would definately have liked them to be thinner. Next time I am going to try cutting the flour back a little bit, since I like the Starbuck's black & white cookies - which is more of a cupcake texture and I am going to cook them in a muffin top pan. I used the pure lemon extract, but I feel it could use more lemon. I may try adding a drop to the white frosting to give that a bit of a kick. I made them to take to a BBQ Party which was cancelled due to rain, so I brought them into work - they were all gone within two hours and everyone raved about them the whole week. Now they want me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This recipe was right on for creating cookies like you would get at any New York bakery. My only suggestion is to make more frosting that recommended. We were a little short, I would 1.5 or double it next time. Also, the cookies baked in 15-20 minutes, not the 20-30 that the recipe suggests. And one final suggestion, refrigerate the cookies after you frost them to get the true NY taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States