Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Tastes just like the black and white cookies at Einstein Bagels where I used to work! I cooked the first batch for 20 minutes and when the timer went off they looked overdone, so I put in the second batch for only 15 minutes just until the edges started to brown. Between the two batches, I prefer the one that cooked longer. The texture is just perfect. I am so thrilled to have this recipe now! The only thing I changed was to use dark chocolate chips instead of the bittersweet chocolate just because that's what I had on hand. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very close to the black and whites in NY. I used 1 1/2 tsp lemon extract, 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips. I also used skim milk, b/c it is all I had. I will definately make again. I will try other's suggestion and cut the all purpose flour by 1/4 cup. Update: I should have noted before, use a teaspoon to scoop, a tablespoon is too big and puffy. The rounded teaspoon is perfect. I baked them about 15-18 minutes since they were a little smaller. They were much better with 1/4 cup less all purpose flour. This time they were just like the cookies in NY. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Bland tasting cookies. Not up to what I expected. Edible though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
HELP!!! My first batch of cookies came out great. However, when I pulled out the 2nd batch-the batter had run all together!!! They are a mess. Should I have let the cookie sheet cool? I followed the changes and cut the flour to a total of 4 cups and added 1 tsp lemon & 1/2 tsp vanilla - very good taste. Cookies are done in 11-12 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
very good recipe, especially after I made the changes Kathy suggested, definitely needed less flour than recipe called for, I think next time I will decrease flour even more though, maybe to about 2 cups of each. The dutch cocoa worked well for the chocolate icing, nice and chocolatey, my daughter who is a chocaholic loved these! Husband raved about these too! Next time I might try making icing with milk instead of water though, kinda wanted icing a little less flat, but overall really happy with this recipe. Stores here sell these for a $1 a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Luzerne, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Plain, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I took these to work with me today, and they were gone in no time! I used Kathy's review recipe for icing, which adds butter and corn syrup, along with unsweetened cocoa for the chocolate icing. They came out really well! I can't imagine using icing from a tub for these. As for shape, once you drop the cookie dough on the cookie sheet, it's a good idea to flatten it out a bit. They still end up with rounded bottoms, but not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Good cookies, my husband loves black and white cookies and ate them all in a weekend. I accidently put in 1 teaspoon of vanilla but thought it added flavor. I used canned frosting for the chocolate instead based on reviews. I had muffin top pans which helped shape the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Taste just like I remember growing up. I did use half&half in place of milk, for additional moisture, and added nutmeg. Once cooled, flip the cookie upside and frost the flat side. Much prettier. Even if the bottoms of your cookies are a little ugly, no biggie...the frosting will cover it. And I used store bought frosting, as we like that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Excellent! They reminded me of sitting in Grand Central Station.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I loved them! I am totally making them again ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States