Black and White Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Wolfy
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe! I use regular salted butter and just omit the 1/2 tsp salt. I recommend using parchment paper instead of butter the sheet. The dough is kind of sticky, and getting it to form a perfect circle can be hard. The easiest way is to put the dough in a piping bag and squeeze it out to form the circles any size you want. To get the really dark color for the "Black" icing, you must use bittersweet chocolate or dutched cocoa power (I like Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa). Just mix the cocoa power with a little melted butter, and then add to the powered sugar icing. As other raters have suggested, you should just make the white icing first and cover half of all cookies, then add the chocolate to the remaining icing. I found I needed more icing than the recipe made, so i just added more powered sugar and boiling water. One additional note: I wasn't able to brush the icing on, mine was pretty thick, which I think is better, so I just spead it on with a little metal spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Like many other bakers I used the ingredient and procedural modifications suggested by the Kathy and hoosier2b postings. My outcome was fantastic!! The crumb of the cookie and flavor were perfect as was the presentation! I yielded about 13 4" to 5" cookies by using the 1/4 cup scoop. HOWEVER, does anyone have a suggestion as to how to store the cookies so that the surface is not damaged?? Otherwise a great recipe that will be duplicated! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Alright. I made these, and either I seriously screwed up something, or they just aren't very good. They ended up being overly chewy and puffy, and the icing didn't really help with the flavor of them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
these cookies came out wonderfully! Brought me back to my childhood. I did make some minor changes, i used 1 3/4 cup AP flour and used white chocolate chips for the white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYMBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Pevely, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great tasting cookie. Better than the actually ones you get in the deli and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Definitely follow Kathy suggestions..I cut the all purpose flour to 2 cups turned out great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I made these last night, and my family has eaten all but four of them! Great cookie if you're looking for something that's not overbearingly sweet. My only alteration to this recipe was that I only needed to cook them for 8 minutes rather than the suggested 30. When I cooked them for 30, they came out rock-hard and burned. It may have been because I used a tablespoon to measure out my cookies, so they were smaller. Overall, LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I was overall not impressed. They took a large amount of time, and in the end it was not worth it. The actual cake was dry and crumbly and the frosting didn't stick. It was very messy, and painful to frost every single cookie. An okay flavor, but I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riccobene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
these cookies came out great! the only thing is the chocolate icing was to dry so i just added a little more boiling water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This cookies is a bit bland but it does have the exact texture of black and white cookie. I didn't use this frosting - I found a recipe that called for vanilla and a hint of lemon in the white frosting and cocoa in the chocolate frosting and it worked really well. But this cookie is a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States