Black and Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
So far not a fan. I used 1 cup of buttermilk in place of 1 cup of half and half. I like using buttermilk in my baking. The muffins are very moist and since I used paper liners they are stuck hideously which is my fault for not following the directions there. However overall I don't find the muffin appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I just 2 cups of pasty whole wheat flour and they are wonderful. They must be eaten quickly or refrigerated as then will mold if left out on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made these a long time ago and apparently overlooked reviewing them. I thought these were very good. I used yogurt and milk instead of half and half, and ended up with more than 18 muffins, but I also didn't fill the cups very full. I froze some for lunches and they seem fine after freezing as well. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Did not add blueberries and used blackberries from our yard. Good flavor and moist. Next time I'll add nuts to help mask the seeds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good! I substituted the wheat germ with white flour, 2% milk for the half and half, and used only frozen blackberries for half of the batch and bannana and walnuts for the other half. Both came out moist very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I recommend adding vanilla and using 1/3 c brown sugar in addition to the white sugar. I made the recipe as is and they came out nice and moist but the flavor was a bit lacking. I will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Oh my goodness very very good! I made a lot of changes however. I wanted to make blackberry muffins so I used a cup and a half of frozen blackberries. Then I used a few spoonfuls of strawberry jam. I used about a sixth of a cup less sugar. Then I was going to use the 1 cup milk-1 cup yogurt substitute but Iinstead I used sour cream instead of yogurt. I used oats instead of wheat germ. And...I added some sliced almonds for texture. And, finally, I added a hefty sprinkling of flax seed to the dry ingredients. So I really changed the recipe but they came out amazing. At the end before they were done I brushed the muffin tops with milk and sugar. Got 12 Large muffins in the end. I really packed them full. The only problem was that Iused muffin cups and didn't butter them and the muffins really stick to the paper. Next time I'll just butter the tray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I used all whole wheat flour, cut the sugar down to 1/3 of a cup and cut the baking powder down to a teaspoon and a half so it wouldn't overpower the muffin's flavor. I used "soured" fat free milk to cut back on the fat. I got a couple more than eighteen muffins, I got 23 medium sized muffins. These turned out really well, though mine were a bit wet. It could be because I picked my blackberries near the end of the season, you never know with blackberries. These smelled really well while they were baking and the family enjoyed them. Mine didn't turn out all that pretty, I think next time I might make a low-sugar streusel topping for the muffins. I think these would have made great whole grain blackberry pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My muffins came out a doughy texture even know I baked them an extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Delicious, hearty muffins. Didn't have wheat germ, so I used some flax seed. Sprinkled brown sugar, oatmeal and some butter on top for some yummy added sweetness. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States