Bistro Veal Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
10/14: larry bought ground veal instead of ground beef. i made these burgers, they were ok, Larry really liked them. i used taragon because i didn't have fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hollyglightly
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I did whir up 4 white button mushrooms, 3 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup of Walla Walla sweet onion in a food processor (coarse). Then tossed in a frying pan with a little oil - cooked until tender. Then I followed the rest of the recipe exactly as written, with the addition of the cooled mushroom mixture. I rolled into 8 slider size meatballs and grilled them. No condiments beyond a nice piece of lettuce some homemade aoli (or a little of your favorite mayo). Absolutely a keeper! Will make again and again. BWT, no cheese needed. NOM NOM NOM~ THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I changed it a little to suit my taste & what I had available. I sautéed the onions & garlic, but I didn't have the shitake mushrooms. So I used 1/2can of diced tomatoes w/gr.chilies (drained). after the onions & garlic were done, I added them & let the flavors blend together (until cooled).I,also, didn't have any rosemary so I replaced it w/tarragon & 1/4tsp cumin & a pinch of turmeric. Let me tell you, those burgers were amazing! I'm sure that they are amazing even if you follow the original recipe...but I'm the person that always has to tweak it one way or the other LOL :) enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
We loved the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My boyfriend said, "It's a keeper!" I used white pepper and grilled over charcoal, topped them with colby-jack, butter lettuce, tomato, mayo, and yellow mustard. I rubbed halves of a large summer squash with grapeseed oil and grilled flat-side down to serve alongside. The herbs should be fresh. It makes all the difference and provides plenty of flavor. I used 3 basil leaves instead of 2 because mine were small. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Left out the Rosemary since we don't like it. Cooked them on the electric George Foreman grill. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were fantastic. Didn't change a thing. Served on sourdough toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I ended up not having and rosemary around when I made these burgers so I replaced it with chives. I served them with a Garden Salad with Mustard Greens (regular salad, I just replaced half the lettuce with the greens,) stuffed clams & a Pinot Noir I had laying around. Maybe it was the burgers, maybe it was the company, maybe it was because they were grilled on a cold November day in New England, but these burgers were great. I will make these again and highly suggest this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabsmom
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I'm giving this one 4 stars b/c I thought it might be a little bland. Here are the changes I made: I sauteed 2 tbsp chopped garlic in olive oil, then 1 small onion and 1/2 lb of shitake mushrooms for about 5 minutes. Then I tossed it into the food processor and chopped it small and added it to the veal mix. I thought it gave depth that might have been missing. Served on whole wheat rolls with melted brie. My husband and I loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States