Bistecca alla Fiorentina (Tuscan Porterhouse) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this on a gas grill so I can imagine it would have been much better on charcoal, but it was delicious. It's tough to go wrong with porterhouse in my book though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I'm pretty fixed and rigid when it comes to how I like my steak prepared, but this is a deviation I don't mind repeating. The wonderful Italian flavors of rosemary, sea salt, pepper and olive oil are subtle, and actually enhance the flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My advice is to season with salt only AFTER you have cooked the steak; otherwise, the meat could be hardened. Also, you should not add oil or lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This steak was fabulous! I love fresh rosemary and when paried with a good cut of steak the result is out of this world. I highly recommend cooking this on charcoal if you can. We served this with roasted red potatoes, a garden salad with a light vinaigrette dressing and a good glass of wine- this meal definitely rivaled any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used sirloin because that's what I had, and I forgot the lemon. And my steak was a little tough even rare. I'll try it again. The marinade was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Horses
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I used to eat at a little Italian steakhouse that served bistecca...I always loved it. They sadly went out of business (due to family health issues) and I've missed this so much. This recipe tasted exactly like their's!!! So wonderful!! Thank you for the fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Most important to great bistecca is not so much the seasoning, which is minimal, but a good piece of meat and someone who knows how to cook it properly. Hubs managed both. I've had steak prepared this way all my life, but always in a skillet, not on the grill. Hubs resisted, since he has his tried and true seasoning for grilled steaks, but he admitted he liked this. Seasoning is typically just olive oil, a good grey sea salt and pepper. Rosemary, lemon and sometimes garlic are options I skipped. A simple garnish of arugula and some grilled potatoes with thyme finished the steak perfectly. I loved this, but then again, as an Italian gal who is quite familiar with this, I may just be a little biased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I loved this Italian-style steak! I did vary from the recipe slightly in using a combination of finely chopped fresh rosemary and basil. I also coated the steak with spray butter after pressing in the herbs while it sat at room temperature. I still brushed the steak with a little olive oil before grilling, however, I used adobo seasoning (salt and seasoning blend) since I didn't have any grey sea salt on hand. It turned out to be one of the best I have ever had. The perfect grill marks made it visually appealling as well. I will definitely be making this one again...over and over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Fantastic steak We did not have lemon and therefore did not use it, but we loved it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was the recipe that turned me. 34 years as a vegan, and when a neighbor threw this Flinstone steak on the grill, I just lost control. Now, I try to make this every Sunday, my only change is that I omit the rosemary, and use ground hemp and flax seeds to coat the steak. The smell of this steak on the grill raises eyebrows sometimes, but it's a good way to make friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Tuscan Pasta

This delicious, easy pasta dish with zesty herbs is bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States