Bistec Encebollao Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
We couldn't eat this!! The taste was AWFUL!!! We couldn't stand the smell too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meluvsfood
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Very good, I put it all in the slow cooker then put it in the fridge overnight then cooked it on low for about 6 hrs. Topped it off with some cilantro, lime, avocado and some corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angie c-moore
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I prepared this on a Friday evening and made it Sunday. The steak was so full if flavor and extremely tender! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I made this recipe for a Puerto Rican friend of mine who requested "Bistec in Salsa" - steak in red sauce. I bought stew beef for the cut, marinated overnight, and then cooked at a simmer for several hours with the lid on. I added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce (Goya brand) in the last hour, which increased the amount of sauce and added really great flavor and color. I served this with white rice, and black beans as directed by the package (dried beans, soaked, cooked with onions, garlic, green pepper, and sazon, simmered for a couple of hours). Would definitely make again and I am excited to share this with guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Just like my dad taught me to make! My boys loved and it is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
My husband is from PR born and raised - talked about this dish that his mom made...so glad I found this recipe! Follow it exactly, don't change a thing! I make this every week for our family, husband and kids love it- meat comes out super tender and flavorful. Thank you for this...one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
it was my first time making this and it came out really good...i made it with mofongo but had to make a side of rice def taste better with rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
The key to this recipe is the 1 cup beef stock- I have made this same recipe before without it. With it is much better, keeps the steak moist. I used cube steak. Next time I will pound the meat because the thicker pieces always come out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband is Puerto Rican and i'm always trying to cook meals that his mother would have made him. He LOVES this and asks me to make it at least once a week. He says its just like home. I agree with the extra vinegar for the marinade. I add like enough that it's tangy to the taste and figure the more liquid for simmering the better. We used beef that had been tenderized by the butcher and it works MUCH better. Very tender and melts in your mouth!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melandjose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
So easy, warm and comforting! Made my own Sazon seasoning to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States