Bissara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I found this recipe 2 weeks ago and have made it 5 times since then, it's so incredibly good and so incredibly fast and easy. I sincerely doubt I'll ever again make "traditional" split pea soup. This can be eaten as soup or, if you allow it to really thicken up, it makes a fantastic dip with crunchy tortilla strips, corn chips, toasted pita triangles, cucumber slices, or sweet red bell pepper strips. I've also used it as a filling for pita along with chopped cucumbers and a drizzle of yogurt mixed with chopped mint. Scrumptious! Note: Because I didn't have any dried whole chilies, I substituted 1 T. of commercial chili powder. I've also used 1 T. of dried parsley in place of fresh, and that works okay, too, although fresh is best. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
My boyfriend and I both loved this. I used red chili pepper flakes and added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt,tumeric, and a chili powder. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I can only recommend this recipe. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catrin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Next time, I will halve the preparation--I have so much leftovers! This is a great tasting, healthy, unique tasting, FILLING treat. Would also be good on toasted bread, and I've also been putting it on baked potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I enjoy pea soup, so this was naturally something I had to try. It's got a nice spicy kick to it, and soooo healthy. I didn't use any oil at all, and I added a bouillon cube. The ratio of water to peas was perfect, and I simmered it for 1 hour. Perfect consistency and it thickens when it cools down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Delicious. The BEST split pea soup I've ever had. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I omitted the olive oil (why is it in there?), but kept the vegetable oil to fry up the garlic. I also added a 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes in addition to the 6 cups of water. That was good, but it was still pretty thick at the end. Next time I think I might try a 28 oz can of chopped tomatoes. I also served this with cooked whole buckwheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I was so disappointed! Bland bland bland. The cumin does give a little smokey flavor, but not enough....I wished there were some meat in it to give a deeper flavor. I added a tiny bit of liquid smoke, and some lemon juice to kind of brighten it. I think it needs more vegetables- like onion, carrot and celery, cooked with the garlic. Also, leaving the dried red chili whole added no heat whatsoever. Lastly, I wished I had used vegetable or chicken broth instead of plain water. I had such high hopes for this recipe, but none of us liked it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
as written, this would be too bland for my taste and I cannot see the sense in adding that much oil. With changes, this soup is delicious and so quick and easy. quickly sauteed 5 large cloves of garlic in a bit of EVOO, upped the cumin to 2 heaping measuring tsp., omitted the whole chili and added Tunisian ground chili powder, and used chicken broth instead of water. Used 3 cans chicken broth and 16 oz pkg of peas. It was thick but not overly so. I had an extra can of chicken broth that I added the next day, as it was thicker then. thanks for the easy recipe that is nice to use for a Ramadan dinner shorba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup is wonderful and couldn't be easier to make! The flavor is very rich and the texture is perfect (I used a hand blender, right in the pot to puree). I used red pepper flakes instead of the dried red chili pepper. It did take a little longer to cook... and definitely needed more water during the cooking process. I ended up using low sodium chicken stock and kept adding it, as needed. I will definitely make this again. Thanks, Asma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States