Bissara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Like most people I used less oil, and spiced it to my taste, but this is a great basic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I substituted soy milk and vegan margarine to make this meal cruelty-free and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I wasn't sure I was going to like it but wow, it was really good. I made the recipe as written, except for adding a couple extra chili peppers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very thick, porridge like soup! I love the chile pepper in this, next time I might even double the amount of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I did as others suggested and cooked it with chicken broth. I added more of all the spices at the end, because when I tasted it, it seemed a bit bland. Everyone raved about this, and loved the spicy kick to it. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My husband says 5 but I wasn't so impressed by this soup. The texture was really nice and the flavor as well. We added chopped parsley to the top and squeezed lemon juice over it as well. I felt like it was good for the first 10 bites but then became bland and heavy. Maybe I should have made it more liquidy? Overall, it was a nice soup and I will probably make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this in the crockpot, so the peas softened up beautifully and no mashing was required. I reduced the oil in the recipe to about 1/4 c. olive oil. I added a vegetarian bouillon cube. Otherwise, I used the ingredients listed. This was quite good (if a bit on the mild side), and everyone in the family ate theirs at supper. After it sits and thickens up, it really does make a nice spread for bread or crackers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Did not care for the taste or consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My biggest complaint was the texture. It just seemed way to thick. I was constantly adding water, but it never seemed to be enough. I would possibly consider making it again for myself, but I would NEVER make it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I loved this simple and quick soup. I used a ground Indian red pepper because that was all I had. I t was great! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States