Bisquick® Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Well, I wanted to give it high marks, but 6 cups of Bisquick is WAY too much. I reduced it to about 3 1/2 for the 2 lbs of sausage and 2 lbs of cheese and added a bit of chicken broth just to make it easier to mix everything together. I also think raising the temp to 325 would be better. Several of the helpful hints that I read in different reviews include: line a cookie sheet with foil and use a baking rack so the grease drips onto the foil during cooking (that's gotta reduce the calorie count a little, right?), and use disposable latex gloves to mix ingredients together, and finally, use block cheese and grate it yourself. After those adjustments, the sausage balls turned out to be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyatthelake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
add the cheese after mixing the sausage and the Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe. Just don't try it with reduced fat or low fat cheese..ruins everything. It is a pain to mix together. If it is very crumbly, just squeeze it together. Sometimes I just give up and make a thick biscuit dough per Bisquick recipe, add sausage (uncooked) and cheese, then bake in mini muffin tins. Much easier and just as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Family tradition and was a big hit outside of family. I used all spicy sausage...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The recipe doesn't hold together. Added another .8 pound of sausage and still didn't hold. Had to run back to the store to buy more sausage... I have made sausage cheddar balls before with a different recipe and they are a huge hit at parties, but this recipe just doens't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Whalen Tarditi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Good, but needed to add a little water. The sausage doesn't add enough flavor. Next time I will add some garlic powder, cayenne and sage. Love you can freeze them for a fast app.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakorama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Faulkner

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Calhan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I believe this recipe calls for too much Bisquick. I ended up with doughy balls of baked Bisquick batter with a little bit of sausage in them. If I made this again, I'd cut the Bisquick in half and add a little more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
To be fair, I will preface my review and say that I did not use the specific brand of sausage which apparently affected the outcome dramatically. I used Owen's. The proportions of this recipe created little hard dry balls with almost no meat. I cooked about a dozen as a test run, knowing something looked wrong, and they were OK hot, but as soon as they cooled, they were stones. So, to the remainder of my mix, I added a 3rd pound of sausage and they turned out great. If you look at other sausage ball recipes, you'll see the usual ratio of bisquick to sausage is 2:1, not 3:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I like to add 1/2 cup milk, and some extra cheese.. but I use 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 pepper jack cheese. I also like to add 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese as well.... And I cook these at 350 for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States