Bisquick® Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I make this recipe at least once a holiday season. Not only is it good as an appetizer, my family likes to have them for breakfast. When I make this, I like to use my own homemade baking mix and a mixture of sharp cheddar and pepperjack cheeses. They always get inhaled in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Always enjoy these when family is in town. Used this recipe more as a guide, using 2c mix, 12 oz sausage and 8oz cheese and added half cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
As the recipe was written, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook the sausage first like most other recipes. I cooked the sausage first and then mixed the ingredients but the "dough" wasn't sticking together. So, I added 4 eggs to the mix and that made it stick. They expanded and in the end, not in a ball shape, more like a biscuit. My husband thought they turned out similar to the biscuit at Red Lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
To be fair, I will preface my review and say that I did not use the specific brand of sausage which apparently affected the outcome dramatically. I used Owen's. The proportions of this recipe created little hard dry balls with almost no meat. I cooked about a dozen as a test run, knowing something looked wrong, and they were OK hot, but as soon as they cooled, they were stones. So, to the remainder of my mix, I added a 3rd pound of sausage and they turned out great. If you look at other sausage ball recipes, you'll see the usual ratio of bisquick to sausage is 2:1, not 3:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
So easy, and delicious. My family ate the whole batch when I turned my back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I too made this recipe and found it difficult getting ingredients to stick together. Seemed like it was too much biscuit mix so I added 2 eggs and a little milk (1/2 cup) to moisten it. Seemed like it needed a little more sausage in the recipe as it was a bit bready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These are really easy and tasty. I halved the recipe, used a little less cheese and added a little more sausage to get the right moisture level. These would be good with cantaloupe, strawberries, and honey dew melons for a fantastic brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
add the cheese after mixing the sausage and the Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I like to add 1/2 cup milk, and some extra cheese.. but I use 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 pepper jack cheese. I also like to add 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese as well.... And I cook these at 350 for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I will need to add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States