Bisquick® Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I make this recipe at least once a holiday season. Not only is it good as an appetizer, my family likes to have them for breakfast. When I make this, I like to use my own homemade baking mix and a mixture of sharp cheddar and pepperjack cheeses. They always get inhaled in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
As the recipe was written, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook the sausage first like most other recipes. I cooked the sausage first and then mixed the ingredients but the "dough" wasn't sticking together. So, I added 4 eggs to the mix and that made it stick. They expanded and in the end, not in a ball shape, more like a biscuit. My husband thought they turned out similar to the biscuit at Red Lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I too made this recipe and found it difficult getting ingredients to stick together. Seemed like it was too much biscuit mix so I added 2 eggs and a little milk (1/2 cup) to moisten it. Seemed like it needed a little more sausage in the recipe as it was a bit bready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Always enjoy these when family is in town. Used this recipe more as a guide, using 2c mix, 12 oz sausage and 8oz cheese and added half cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These are really easy and tasty. I halved the recipe, used a little less cheese and added a little more sausage to get the right moisture level. These would be good with cantaloupe, strawberries, and honey dew melons for a fantastic brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
So easy, and delicious. My family ate the whole batch when I turned my back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I like to add 1/2 cup milk, and some extra cheese.. but I use 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 pepper jack cheese. I also like to add 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese as well.... And I cook these at 350 for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
To be fair, I will preface my review and say that I did not use the specific brand of sausage which apparently affected the outcome dramatically. I used Owen's. The proportions of this recipe created little hard dry balls with almost no meat. I cooked about a dozen as a test run, knowing something looked wrong, and they were OK hot, but as soon as they cooled, they were stones. So, to the remainder of my mix, I added a 3rd pound of sausage and they turned out great. If you look at other sausage ball recipes, you'll see the usual ratio of bisquick to sausage is 2:1, not 3:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I believe this recipe calls for too much Bisquick. I ended up with doughy balls of baked Bisquick batter with a little bit of sausage in them. If I made this again, I'd cut the Bisquick in half and add a little more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjamie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Calhan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States