Bishop's Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I loved the bread. I'm even bookmarking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I learned to make this bread in highschool. Our recipe was wonderful and called for Maraschino cherries, broken up Hershey bars and dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Maybe it's just me, but I found this to be very dry. I wrapped it up and waited a day before trying it as the recipe suggests, but I just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawndale, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I thought this was a great bread. Would be good for Christmas time. I made a slight change because I didn't want to use Choc. Chips, I used cut up dates and instead of the candied cherries I used the marachino cherries, just because that's what I had on hand. It was still very good. Next time I'll prepare ahead and make as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
You may prefer the Taste of Home or Cooks.com version of bishop's bread; neither contain buttermilk. This dessert is wonderful for those who like the taste of chocolate, nuts and cherries. Dark chocolate mixed with semi-sweet chips is what I prefer in this recipe. The taste deepens if loaf is aged a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good. I made mini loaves and baked for about 40-50 minutes, and they were perfect. Very nice little bread. I didn't have walnuts, so I just left them out. Maybe next time I'd cut up the cherries; a little big in the bread. Bf liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
One of my all-time favorite holiday breads! I use cherry craisins instead of the currants. I've had to give this recipe to every person who has tasted it...it's delicious. Sooooo NOT a pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Haven t had a recipe for this bread in years and had forgotten just how good it is. Because we do not like cherries subsitute some apricots and raising or you can use dried cranberries. Sliced thin and served with cream cheese is a teatime treat liked by most people. Unfortunately some people think it is a cake but really isn t ....has a bread texture just in case you are expecting a fruit cake!!!! The recipe I had added 1 tbsp. of cherry liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent! My family loves apricots so I added 1/2c of finely chopped dried apricots.I always toast the nuts in the oven first. It adds an earthier flavor to all breads.Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I couldn't find currants at my grocery store, so I substituted plain raisins. Overall it was good, but the fruit and chocolate combination was a little odd. It also dries out VERY quickly, so wrap it securely when storing. I'm going to try it again, this time with just the cherries and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States