Biscuit Baking Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Thanks you for the fabulous recipe! This mix is super quick to make and works great. Easier to have on hand than Bisquick and without all the preservatves. My DH mainly uses it for making pancakes, but it is so versatile. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. It does make a lot so it lasts quite a while. To make it a little healthier, I used Spectrum Organic Non-Hydrogenated Vegetable Shortening from the health food store which is made from palm oil and healthier than using regular shortening or vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Loved this recipe. It's great to already have a mix on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chichi2
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Great recipe for the mix. Just add some eggs and milk (I also added a little sugar) and you have got yourself a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
In response to LMSTRANG, I didn't have enough dough to make the whole recipe, so I pulled the servings down to 4, and then made it as is. After the mixing was all done, I poured in the amount of milk you said (the mixture was a little shorter than 2 1/4 cups), and when I was kneading the dough, I had to add a little more flour. By little, I mean about 1/4 cup counting all the flour I poured onto it to be able to knead it without getting my hands all sticky. Then I rolled the dough like a sausage (thick, not long), cut it into four thick slices, and now I'm ready to bake! Thanks LMSTRANG, because I had the same question as Nana's Angels. Oh, and it worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Very useful recipe to have on hand. Mixed up a small batch and used it to make Cheddar Bay Biscuits from this site. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I was out of bisquick and made this mix, I have now used it for biscuits twice and dumplings once. They were so good! I even gave a jar of the mix as a gift to a friend who also loves it! I used LMSTRANG's measurement of 2/3 milk to 2 1/4 mix and it was prefect, so thanks for the mixture amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This worked well enough, I didn't have shortening so I just used butter and they still turned out fine since I used it immediately instead of storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
My instant go to for biscuits and coffee cake! LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is an awesome recipe! I was looking for something to help save money and time and this is it. I have already used this twice today in two meals that I made. The first is the Easy Quiche and then with dinner I made two different versions of the biscuits following reviewers added ingredients to this mix - one for regular biscuits and one for cheddar biscuits (tried both versions of this with and without the added garlic powder and Italian seasoning, just added the cheese) I used Colby Jack cheese as that was only cheese on hand. But on cheese versions I did use the garlic salt and butter wash after it was done cooking. Would like to see better measurements on that so not to make it too salty. Otherwise very delicious! I will make more of this mix and store in my refrigerator freezer and in big freezer for emergency, lol!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket878

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I don't buy boxed biscuit mixes because I hate the aftertaste. So when I wanted to make Mimi's Zuchinni Pie on this site I was very happy to find this recipe as I didn't have any biscuit mix on hand. I recalculated and made this half the size. It worked like a charm. The recipe turned out great! It didn't seem to work as well in a drop biscuit recipe I tried, but I think that was more textural on my part, as I am pretty picky about biscuits and have never been too fond of drop ones. This is a very good mix, and I am looking forward to trying it in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States