Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love these! I was always afraid to make biscotti, but these are so easy! I used almond extract because I didn't have anise and added a little extra for a stronger flavor. Perfect for coffee dipping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've never made biscotti before so I was initially concerned that it may be a little difficult but wow, this recipe couldn't have been easier. I followed the instructions exactly as they are listed here (using the anise extract rather than the oil) and they came out great. Initially the dough was very very sticky so I refrigerated it for a bit before putting it on the sheet tray and that worked just fine. After they cooled a bit I cut them, toasted them off a bit more per the instructions and dipped half in chocolate and white chocolate, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just finished making this biscotti and it came out great! All I did was substitute the anise for almond extract. This is the first time I've ever made biscotti and I 'll make another batch real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed the directions however the dough did not rise the biscotti tastes good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made these the other day and exchanged the anise extract for half vanilla half almond extract and they worked out great. However, I would reccomend keeping a close eye on them or dropping the heat from 375 to 350, as mine did burn a bit on the bottom. I'm going to try this with orange zest and dried cranberries on a vanilla extract base, and another batch with banana extract, chocolate chips then dipped half in chocolate. Hope they work! The original batch was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made the original recipe and then made one using cocoa and Splenda. Splenda doesn't work--it makes the dough crumbly. I used a pizza cutter immediately for the original recipe and it worked on the ends but not in the middle. Next time will let top of dough get golden brown, not just up the sides. The flavor is wonderful. Wetting my hands worked great...I put the dough on ungreased parchment paper on the cooky sheets. I will try more this week and will report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
such a great and SIMPLE recipe! this was my first attempt at making biscotti and i was successful! i substituted almond extract for the anise...and added macadamia nuts and dark chocolate. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csoozgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Flavor and crunch factor are great! I've had this problem with many biscotti recipes--this review isn't directed specifically for this particular recipe. I've ALWAYS had a problem cutting the biscotti logs after they have been baked for the first time, getting frustrated with each broken slice. I can't begin to tell you how many times I've ended up with crumbled biscotti. I got the idea to "score" the unbaked logs, while on the parchment lined cookie sheet. I don't cut diagonal slices. I "score" across each unbaked log with a sharp knife-being careful not to cut all the way through. I try to cut them about 1/2' each. Follow the directions to continue baking. Hopefully this will help to solve the issues with crumbling biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I am at about 9000 feet above sea level. I added 1 egg and 1/2 c. flour. I had to add sprinkles of water before I could get the dough to come together. It is important to NOT overwork the dough when making these. The flavor was very good. Keep in mind that the picture shows biscotti with almonds and to get that you have to add almonds. When adding almonds toast in a pan over medium heat moving constantly for about 3 minutes then unpan. This will really bring out the almond oils and flavor. I WILL DO THIS RECIPE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cakegarten
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I can't stop eating them! Ridiculously easy -- WHY have I been buying them all these years? Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cakegarten
Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States