Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Yum. Substituted white whole wheat flour. I didn't have anise extract or oil, so I used vanilla instead. Next time I'll add a little almond extract too. I chopped up semi-sweet chocolate chips and walnuts and stirred them right into the heavy dough (took a little elbow grease). (BTW: No extra flour required!) Used wax paper and a rolling pin to form two equal logs, which I then dumped onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Practically no clean up! Baked about 24 minutes, waited a couple minutes, sliced with a pizza cutter, and toasted another 6-8 minutes. Next time I'll slice with a pizza cutter just after they come out of the oven (or maybe a minute later). These are delicious, with a crumbly texture and the perfect bite -- not jaw breakingly crunchy. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is our go-to biscotti recipe. We make a different flavor combination every Sunday. We've exchanged the anise extract for orange extract and added dried cranberries. We've also exchanged anise for almond and added nuts. Never disappoints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
These were plain but not bad. I melted leftover chocolate morsels (w/ some chocolate hazelnut spread and a little oil) and spread over the top. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My first time ever making biscotti myself. Followed recipe exactly and my whole family loved them....had to make a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Simply and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this Biscotti the other day and it turned out wonderful. I used 1/2 Tbsp vanilla and 1/2 Tbsp almond extract. After they cooled I drizzled milk chocolate over the tops. I can't wait to try different variations with this recipe, this one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have tried many biscotti recipes in the past but this is the best recipe ever! It is very simple but yet has a wonderful texture and taste. For the holiday season I add candied red and green cherries for a more festive biscotti. I would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone who is seeking the perfect biscotti! evapap Greece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe, but I had to add 2/4 cup more flour to shape it. I also added 6oz mini chocolate chips. I baked them on parchment paper. I sprayed my hands with Pam cooking spray in order to keep the dough from sticking to my hands while I shaped it in a rectangle. I baked at 365. The dough rose more than expected while cooking. But it was fine. I cut them with a very sharp knife immediately after taking out of the oven. I baked them at 350 on their sides, 10 minutes each side. These were delicious!!! I might add toffee pieces next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a keeper. I used a combo of vanilla and almond extract instead of anise. Added just a bit more flour, a couple tablespoonfuls. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
After talking to someone else...I believe that recipe should say 1 tsp, not 1 tbsp, of anise. That is why my cookies are so bitter. Ugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States