Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I Love biscotti, as far as sweet treats its never too guilt inducing. BUT...to make it even more guilt-free I replaced the flour with gluten free flour (Bob's Red Mill) and used natural stevia instead of sugar. I doubled the extract (I used vanilla and added some fresh scraped vanilla bean) and added chopped pecans. The texture is still great (a little less cake like than traditional flour would have rendered) and with it being toasted on each side I didn't think that it would matter. And it doesn't :-) Very easy to throw together and enjoy in less than an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyinFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Best Biscotti ever. I love this recipe. It is easy and fun to make and the taste is delicious. If the recipe did not come out right it is because they might not have added enough flour but mine was perfect. Finally a biscotti I can chew without losing a tooth. Delic with coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love these! I was always afraid to make biscotti, but these are so easy! I used almond extract because I didn't have anise and added a little extra for a stronger flavor. Perfect for coffee dipping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've never made biscotti before so I was initially concerned that it may be a little difficult but wow, this recipe couldn't have been easier. I followed the instructions exactly as they are listed here (using the anise extract rather than the oil) and they came out great. Initially the dough was very very sticky so I refrigerated it for a bit before putting it on the sheet tray and that worked just fine. After they cooled a bit I cut them, toasted them off a bit more per the instructions and dipped half in chocolate and white chocolate, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just finished making this biscotti and it came out great! All I did was substitute the anise for almond extract. This is the first time I've ever made biscotti and I 'll make another batch real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed the directions however the dough did not rise the biscotti tastes good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made these the other day and exchanged the anise extract for half vanilla half almond extract and they worked out great. However, I would reccomend keeping a close eye on them or dropping the heat from 375 to 350, as mine did burn a bit on the bottom. I'm going to try this with orange zest and dried cranberries on a vanilla extract base, and another batch with banana extract, chocolate chips then dipped half in chocolate. Hope they work! The original batch was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made the original recipe and then made one using cocoa and Splenda. Splenda doesn't work--it makes the dough crumbly. I used a pizza cutter immediately for the original recipe and it worked on the ends but not in the middle. Next time will let top of dough get golden brown, not just up the sides. The flavor is wonderful. Wetting my hands worked great...I put the dough on ungreased parchment paper on the cooky sheets. I will try more this week and will report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
such a great and SIMPLE recipe! this was my first attempt at making biscotti and i was successful! i substituted almond extract for the anise...and added macadamia nuts and dark chocolate. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csoozgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Flavor and crunch factor are great! I've had this problem with many biscotti recipes--this review isn't directed specifically for this particular recipe. I've ALWAYS had a problem cutting the biscotti logs after they have been baked for the first time, getting frustrated with each broken slice. I can't begin to tell you how many times I've ended up with crumbled biscotti. I got the idea to "score" the unbaked logs, while on the parchment lined cookie sheet. I don't cut diagonal slices. I "score" across each unbaked log with a sharp knife-being careful not to cut all the way through. I try to cut them about 1/2' each. Follow the directions to continue baking. Hopefully this will help to solve the issues with crumbling biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States