Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Makes great biscotti every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was so easy, and the reviews so incredible that I too thought how could I possibly screw it up... But I did... I'm obviously the worst biscotti maker on the universe... The taste was good, but mine ended up being really crumbly yet still soft... Not sure what I did... This recipe is easy but still screw-upable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used vanilla instead of anise and pulsed equal amounts of white chocolate chips and walnuts in my food processor before adding the dough. They were absolutely amazing!! I made half the batch without the walnuts and chips and they were boring by comparison, but the kids liked them dipped in hot cocoa. :o) They were perfect for Christmas morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Riegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have been searching for a top-notch Biscotti recipe to serve in a country club to a large group of biscotti connoisseurs. None I have tried have measured up to their standard--until this recipe! As written, it's wonderful. I have tried both anise and almond extract. For that traditional flavor, the anise is best. The instructions have this recipe dividing the dough into two rectangles. I serve a smaller biscotti, so I divide it one more time and make four rectangles, then adjust baking time accordingly. The tip for baking until crisp, then removing to slice is great advice. Before returning them to the oven, they will brown more evenly if you separate the pieces (half inch, give or take) and turn them upright. I received a lot of requests to make them crisper and darker, so I place the dough on parchment paper, spray with nonstick spray, and place directly on the rack in the oven. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! Used chocolate hazelnut spread to coat the bottom. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BennetDarcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. I tried making biscotti a couple of years ago, and it was a disaster. This recipe seemed so easy, I figured I couldn't mess it up. The only change I did was almond instead of anise (I don't have anise). I can't wait to try other flavor options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Finally, a biscotti recipe that dries out in the oven the way it should. And, it's Deeee-lish !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this just as described; cooking for slightly less time because I have an electric oven and it runs a little hot. These were just lovely as is, with the anise!! They DO taste quite licorice-ey, though, so if you have an aversion to the stuff, perhaps cut down on the anise extract or substitute with another flavor. (My whole family loved the anise flavor!) I did follow the advice of another reviewer and oiled my hands to work with the sticky dough. Even my husband, who hardly ever eats baked anything (he's a meat guy) gobbled them up! I am adding 3/4 cup cranberries, some orange zest, and 1 Cup almonds with 1 T almond extract for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Simple and a snap to make- and delicious to eat! I love the traditional anise flavor! I used my pizza stone (put in the oven while preheating to make it good and hot for baking) and found it to be a snap. No need to grease and great for the second baking with the biscotti on their bottoms with the sides exposed and some space between slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My son recently moved across the country and I wanted to mail him some cookies for the holiday, biscotti was recommended. I tried this recipe and was extremely pleased with the results, they were so good that I nearly didn't have enough to mail! For packing I wrapped the biscotti into a long rectangular block with foil and slipped it into a bottle gift box. Awesome. This recipe is very tweakable for flavor and add-ins, I used a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and a cup of chopped pecans. My son wrote to me that they went so well with his coffee. Proud and happy Mom here. If you must mail cookies then biscotti make the trip well, and this recipe is the one to use. Can't say enough good things about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States