Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
5 stars for consistency and 3 for taste. Finally, a biscotti that has the right crunch, melts perfectly in your coffee or tea, and not chewy at all. Yea! But it seems more like a dry bread than a cookie. It wasn't sweet at all, even though I spread melted chocolate on one side. I made as stated except used almond extract since my husband doesn't really like anise but loves biscotti. I couldn't even taste the almond flavor even though I used a whole T. and some slivered almonds too. Next time, I will add more sugar and more extract too. Yes, I have to try it again since the consistency is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My mother loves them. I did't have anise extract and I subbed it for half vanilla and half almond extract. I tossed in some chopped almonds too. Keep an eye on them in the oven, mine started to burn on the bottom, so I flipped them half way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Like many others, I used 1 tbsp each of almond and vanilla extract in place of anise, and I tossed 1/4 tsp cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves in. It was very mild-flavored and not as sweet as I expected. Next time I make it I will consider adding maybe 1/4 C more sugar. To condense suggestions from other reviews, do not add flour to make the dough less sticky and easier to handle; keep your hands wet and keep rinsing them off when the dough starts to stick while you're shaping it. As soon as you pull the two rolls from the oven transfer both rolls to a cutting board and cut them while they're still soft (place them on the cutting board to avoid scratching the baking pan and also because only one roll, once each piece is laid on its side, will fit in the pan at a time). Try toasting the pieces once they've been laid on their side for 5 minutes; check to see whether they need another minute, and then flip them over to toast the other side for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_socks24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I just made these today, and they are the easiest biscotti I've ever made. Dough is great to work with (just need to roll in a little flour). I added ground almonds and a pinch of vanilla - you can eat the dough raw, that's how good it is. Janet G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I adapted this recipe by adding fennel seeds, lightly ground, Orange Zest, and Chopped Almonds. Very nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtisanSF

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I substituted 1 Tbsp of orange extract and added 1 Tbsp of orange rind and these were so good. Will definitely make again. My teething baby liked to chew on them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Easy, simple, & delicious basic biscotti. It can easily be doctored with nuts, chocolate chips, dried fruit, etc...It is great dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used more anise and put in the grated peel of one lemon and one orange. I also turned the temp down to 350 for the first bake and then to 325 for the second bake. When they were done and cooled I dipped them on one side with a mixture of melted chocolate and 1 tsp of crisco shortening. They take a little long to dry but they are worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Nice and simple biscotti. I added finely chopped pecans and because I didn't have anise oil or extract, I added vanilla. I made myself some chocolate dipping with cocoa powder, and it turned out very nice. It didn't crumble as much while slicing, so I am very happy with the result! I will try different flavours using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very nice and easy recipe. I like that it uses vegetable oil. I find it easier to make the dough with only 3 cups of flour. I add slivered almonds to this recipe and then have made other variations. Orange cranberry is a good. I line a jelly roll pan with parchment paper and form one long rectangle so I only have two ends. Overall a real keeper and very flexible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States