Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
As written, the recipe is plain, but by no means does that make it bad! I imagine that even without my additions, this recipe make a very refined and tasty treat to be eaten with a hot beverage of your choice. When I made it, I subbed the anise extract for 1.5 tb of vanilla extract and I added about 1/3 cup of slivered almonds. I scorched the bottoms of the biscotti on the lower rack in my oven, so be watchful of your racks. I baked them for the minimum time suggested, and only toasted them for 4 minutes on each side. Try adding fruits/nuts/chocolates of your choice and subbing the anise for your favourite flavours- this recipe leaves a lot of wiggle room for trying new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Outstanding. Made as written with the anise extract. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I agree, no frills easy to make and slightly lacking in flavor. I did make these a second time and increased the amount of Anise, I used Anise seed -1 heaping Tablespoon ground in smaller pieces in a coffee grinder. I also took the advise of other posters and carefully sliced the loaf before it cooled- this avoided breaking them before the second baking. I like that these are not too sweet and that they are made with oil instead of butter as they are easier to make - oil is less expensive and I always have it in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It was great! The only problem was that it made smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I love this recipe, so versatile. I use dried cranberries sliced almonds and almond extract. Yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I was looking for something fast and easy for the kids to take to school and found this recipe so I made it. It was hard to mix the dough at first but I got the hang of it after a few minutes. The taste- it was just ok. It is definitely missing something. My son said it's too flour-ry and I kinda agree. He didn't take any to school sadly. My 5 year old on the other hand ate it. I dipped half of it with semi sweet chocolate and left the rest plain so I can dunk them in my coffee. Overall, it was just OK. I will stick to Thea's Biscotti Toscani recipe. It's more work but tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I made these for Christmas and have been thinking about them ever since and can't wait to make them again. Everyone loved them! I even wrapped some up and put them in coffee mugs as gifts. I used almond extract and added almonds. Then topped some with chocolate and chopped almonds. Today I'm going to try adding vanilla and tiny chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Finally leapt in and made this recipe. Glad I watched the video. They are wonderful. First time working with dough of this consistency and it went perfect. Adding almonds next time and there will be many next times!!!! Oh, I used light Olive oil...the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sweany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
These came out more like cookies. Nothing like a biscotti. Will be looking for another recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States