Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
A good recipe to practice with. My first try wasn't very refined nor cut up very pretty. And it takes some time to figure how your oven bakes (or doesn't) at this lower temp. I think blending the ingredients with an electric hand mixer helps the consistency. Don't worry about making the "loaves" pretty, it's in the angled cutting. Decorating with the chocolate is the easiest part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was the best biscotti I have ever tasted!!! I didn't use the chocolate drizzle, because it was perfect without it. Next time, I am going to use lemon zest and cinnamon and see how that turns out :) Definately a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meloakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was a huge hit. I made it for my mom for Christmas and she LOVED it. I couldn't believe how professional it ended up looking. No crumbling, no sticky dough. Actually it all came together really well and easy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is a very good recipe. Easy to follow and the results were great. I added extra orange zest because I like that. Perfect with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love the flavor of these biscotti but several of mine broke when slicing. I followed the recipe exactly and followed the cooking times. Once cooled and when slicing several of these broke apart. That doesn't matter as far as taste is concerned because these taste fantastic. If these hadn't broke it would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These were kind of just ok for me. Didn't taste like the biscotti I know. But they looked pretty (I drizzled chocolate on them and put mini chocolate chips in the batter) and they were ok taste-wise. Very mild. Perhaps too mild for me. Needs a little more flavor. Perhaps some anise? I will make them again but will tinker with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
First time to make biscotti and I was intimidated. This recipe was easy to follow and tasted great. The slight orange taste with chocolate was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These were delicious. I was scared because the dough was incredibly crumbly but they turned out wonderfully! Thank you! Subbed in some orange oil for the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These are incredible! I made these for Thanksgiving, and I could barely stop eating them. I first was skeptical of the ingredients because I usually don't bake with zest of any kind, but this time (becuase I had oranges on handy) I went ahead and inclueded zest as indicated. No regrets! The almond and orange flavor work perfectly together - and it smells so good while and after it bakes! I don't even want to put chocolate on it...I feel that anything extra would just take away from its already amazing flavor. You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I always wanted to try biscotti, but every time someone else made it, it came out to be more like a soft cookie. I wanted that crispy texture. This was my first attempt. I have never had a more delicious and more perfect of a texture in a biscotti!! The orange zest was key. I was worried when splitting up the dough. It's sticky and not easy to form like a pizza dough would be. I honestly thought I did something wrong. I went ahead and continued thinking I had a disaster awaiting me. Instead I found the loaves perfect and easy to remove to cool, easier to cut and by the time I stuck them in for the final crisping, I knew I was on the right track. I dipped them in the melted chocolate on one flat side and scraped the top along the bowl to smoothe it out. Some I drizzled the chocolate, some I left plain and others I added sprinkles to the chocolate. They were ALL delicious! I plan to make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States