Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
The orange zest really added flavour. I got nowhere near 3 1/2 dozen...maybe a dozen and a half, but still good nontheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
hands down the best-tasting biscotti recipe EVER!! i really think that the combination of orange/vanilla/almond flavors sets this recipe apart from other recipes. i replaced the almonds with pecans and added raisens to the batter. i haven't dipped the biscotti in chocolate yet, but i'm sure that that will make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
We were having an Italian dinner fundraiser at school & I was asked to pick up biscotti at the bakery (since no one knew how to make them). Then I remembered I had printed this recipe a while ago & figured I could use a little baking therapy :) If they came out bad, I could still go to the bakery. Not to worry...these were sooooo good! I didn't have any almond extact, so I left it out. I did add some ground up anise seeds becuase that is my favorite taste in the biscotti. I left half plain & half with chocolate. They were the first dessert to go at the dinner & everyone raved over them. I was so proud! I think the orange zest made them even better. Great recipe! We used to get a box of homemade biscotti every year at Christmas from a 93 year old client and since he passed away, I have been wishing I knew how to make them and now I do! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Terrific, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Ah! This is the biscotti I was hoping for. I recently purchased some rather expensive, very thin biscotti with fruit & nuts & loved them. After reading lots of reviews for this recipe, I made it, slicing one loaf into very thin slices before the second baking. They're better than the store-bought. Easy to make, no exotic ingredients--these are going to be a frequent event at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I've made biscotti using other recipes before and this one is the keeper. The dough is stickier than other recipes I've used in the past, but perhaps that is why (although the cookies are hard, as they should be) no one will break a tooth on the finished product :) The only modification I made was to use 1 tsp each of vanilla and almond extracts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is by far the best recipe I have ever made. The very first time I ever made biscotti I used this recipe and it turned out great. It's also good as a base for alterations. I've made marble biscotti out of this by splitting the dough in half, mixing in melted chocolate into one half, then rolled them into thick tubes which I twisted around each other and baked as normal. Cut on a diagonal (opposite the twist) and they turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
these are great. I didn't use the chocolate (since I was also making some choc/pecan biscotti), so I increased sugar to 1 cup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Excellent! We loved it. We didn't melt the chocolate though-we were too excited to eat them and they were fantastic without the melted chocolate at all. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These were wonderful! The orange zest lifted the flavor to another level. I will definately be making them again, they were a bit of work, but it was worth it and they keep for a really long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States