Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is my favorite biscotti recipe and I've tried at least a dozen. They are crisp and light, not hard or crumbly. My only changes: I add a little more orange zest and drizzle on the chocolate very lightly instead of slathering it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Easy and tasty. Perfect texture but easy to cut to size. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsfd311

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
LOVED the flavor! I didn't quite have enough orange zest, but it still gave a great flavor. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because they didn't come out as crisp as I'd like, even my husband commented on that. So my next batch I'll experiment with oven temps and baking time to get the right amount of crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Oh yum. This recipe is terrific. The combination of flavors is wonderful and the perfect accompaniment to your favorite hot beverage. Don't forget to have all ingredients at room temperature for best results. You're going to love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These are beyond good, and easy enough that even a hack like me can't screw them up too badly. I've made these twice now. The first time, I didn't make the dough long and narrow, and so I ended up with thin, really long cookies that tasted very good, but didn't really look like biscotti. I also didn't have almonds that time. Still good. Don't roll them out too thin, and I'd say it's safe to go about 3.5-4" high and 10-12" long. I rolled them between wax paper and transferred them to the pan. Okay, second time, I made them the right shape (remembering to cut diagonally) and added almonds. I do my zest on a cheese grater (the bigger of the small grating ones like you'd use for parmesan) and 2 tsp is a whole orange's worth for me. I tried melting the chocolate in a micro safe bowl and ended up burning it, and putting a big hole in my rubbermaid container. (This is likely my fault and not something that'd happen to everyone). Anyway, I decided again not to add the chocolate, and I can honestly say that I don't miss it. These cookies are light and fresh and perfect with coffee. Thank you so much - I'm going to be a hit at coffee hour after church tomorrow! ETA: Third time around and they were even better! I did whole almonds (instead of sliced) this time, and next time I'm going to toast them first). We dipped and/or drizzled them with melted chocolate bark and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
made a few changes but still turned out pretty well. -used half whole wheat. -switched almonds for cranberries. -switched orange zest for orange peel. -didnt have almond extract the flavor came out good, but they weren't as crisp as i would have liked. i think i should have used all a.p. flour and baked for longer than 25 min. be sure to cut the slices thinner if you want more crisp. i think cinnamon would be a nice addition. also, i melted choclate chips into a ziploc bag with a cut corner to nicely squeeze/drizzle chocolate over my biscotti. looked very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treatdream
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Great Recipe! All the flavors added are the perfect amount and blend so well together. I did use pecans in place of the almonds because I had some that needed used up. I also added dried cranberries and I love the texture and flavor they added. I did use the chocolate but I think I prefer them without it. You kind of miss out on all the other flavors going on because the chocolate tends to overpower them. This really was easy to make and filled the house with such a wonderful comforting smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made these for a get together at my Aunt's house. Everyone in my family loved them and they were quickly eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I think I am addicted to these biscotti. I leave out the almond extract and the almonds because I usually don't have them. I also leave them in the oven for a little longer than instructed. I always have these around the house because they are simply heavenly with hot chocolate or herbal fruit tea. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I have been looking for a good one for a while and I'm so glad I found this one. I didn't have almond extract and I don't care for nutmeg, so I left them out. I also didn't read the recipe really well and added the choc. chips to the batter. Yummy! (I didn't dip them later) Not crazy about orange zest, but it really adds flavor. Don't leave it out - unless of course you are adapting it to a lemon poppy seed biscotti or something like that. The possiblilities are endless! I also only made one large loaf and because I like a real crisp biscotti I turned down the oven to 200 degrees and just let them hang out for about 30 extra minutes at the end. Turned off the oven and let them cool there. Didn't get any darker at 200 either. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States