Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I used to work at an Italian restaurant, and the owner’s father would come in with his old friends on Thursdays. I used to bake these at home and bring them in and they loved them! Like some of the other reviewers said, I do not put all of that chocolate on the biscotti-- sometimes a do drizzle a little on using a Ziploc bag with the corner cut out. But I love the flavor without it, and so does every one else I have made them for. Also, I use whole almonds (I probably use more like a cup), and I like to cook them a little longer to make sure they are quite tan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Loved this! I made without the orange, my daughter did not want the orange on this day. I changed it a bit by adding additional vanilla and iced it with both chocolate and white icing. In fact it was so good I was offered to make for a local resturant when I gave it to the owner/a friend. Thanks for the recipe! I will continue to use as a base and add and change to make more diversity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowereyesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe ... tastes just like the cookies in Tuscany
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This were just OK. I really thought the almond extract and orange zest would make them fantastic, but no. I used the orange zest in a spice bottle, maybe fresh orange zest would have been better. I dunno, but I will keep looking. Oh, and you have to cook these way longer than the recipe calls for, but I have found that to be true with both recipes I have tried recently. I just turned the oven down to 250 and checked on them every 10 minutes until they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were ok nothing extra fancy but I love my biscotti so I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have only made biscotti twice and this recipe was fantastic! I personally enjoy the almond and citrus flavors together - I didn't have time to put the chocolate on but they were still delicious. Also, I forgot to put the almonds in which would have been tasty, but again it is a solid recipe alone even if one forgets certain items (as I tend to do). I gave these as Christmas gifts this year which worked nicely because they are not as heavy as the more traditional christmas cookies but still feel like a treat when you are eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is my favorite biscotti recipe and I've tried at least a dozen. They are crisp and light, not hard or crumbly. My only changes: I add a little more orange zest and drizzle on the chocolate very lightly instead of slathering it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Easy and tasty. Perfect texture but easy to cut to size. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsfd311

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
LOVED the flavor! I didn't quite have enough orange zest, but it still gave a great flavor. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because they didn't come out as crisp as I'd like, even my husband commented on that. So my next batch I'll experiment with oven temps and baking time to get the right amount of crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Oh yum. This recipe is terrific. The combination of flavors is wonderful and the perfect accompaniment to your favorite hot beverage. Don't forget to have all ingredients at room temperature for best results. You're going to love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States