Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this for a hispanic friend of mine. She never said how they were so..... My husband thought they were good. Update: My hispanic friend said these were wonderful! She said they brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Well, first off: Never send a man to do a womans job. :p My husband bought All Vegetable Shortnening instead of lard. Still, they came out DELICIOUS! I was told they come out better w/ lard, so i'll use that next time. Also, I used brandy, not pineapple juice like another suggested, but I did use PJ to moisten up the dough when needed. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I am glad I came across this recipe. I made about 4 dozen of these cookies they where delicious. Everyone loved them for the holidays they went great with hot chocolate or coffee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are as good as my sister-in-laws SECRET RECIPE that she won't give out. My husband loves biscochitos and these won him over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is the best. My Grandmother used to make me these cookies as a little girl. The only difference to the recipe was she used ( pineapple-juice)instead of (brandy). She would roll the cookies in the sugar & cinnamon when the cookies were still hot. Thank You VERY MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lennox, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Very good sugar cookies with just a hint of licorice flavor! I couldn't find lard so I used butter instead and they still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My mother has been making these cookies all my life - it wouldn't be Christmas without them! We have always used small (1 inch) cookie cutters in various shapes. We put the cookies in a bowl filled with cinnamon/sugar and then put them on the baking sheet - then back in the sugar when they come out of the oven! My family eats them like popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved these cookies! Never heard of them until I was having a 1/2 way to Cinco de Mayo party and was looking at recipes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made these for my partner who was is a New Mexico transplant. She couldn't wait for them to cool before she was eating them. She claims they are totally authentic. The only suggestion would be to dip the cookies in cinnamon & sugar (liberally) after they come out of the oven - as soon as cool enough to touch. Otherwise...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very happy go come across this recipe. My Grandmother use to make Biscochitos when all us grand kids were little. I made them for my kids and they fell in love. I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Mom of 6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States