Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because of the ease and the basic ingredients used. The cookies were quite good, the directions were clear and concise and the baking time was spot-on. However, I did not give them 5 stars because they are definitely not **quite** authentic. My sisters and I made these cookies to include in my welcome baskets for the guests attending my wedding in Santa Fe, NM and the recipe we used had about 15-20 ingredients and the cookies were MUCH more authentic tasting. I did not have most of the ingredients on-hand (or the time or desire!!) to duplicate that recipe. This is an easy, very quick recipe that will give you good results but is missing just a little **something**.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These weren't exactly like Grandma used to make, but they did take me back. Next time I'll add more anise. The dough got rather crumbly so I had to keep adding butter. This recipe's a keeper~~~I'll just tweek it to make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRIQFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very happy go come across this recipe. My Grandmother use to make Biscochitos when all us grand kids were little. I made them for my kids and they fell in love. I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Mom of 6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made these for my partner who was is a New Mexico transplant. She couldn't wait for them to cool before she was eating them. She claims they are totally authentic. The only suggestion would be to dip the cookies in cinnamon & sugar (liberally) after they come out of the oven - as soon as cool enough to touch. Otherwise...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My mother has been making these cookies all my life - it wouldn't be Christmas without them! We have always used small (1 inch) cookie cutters in various shapes. We put the cookies in a bowl filled with cinnamon/sugar and then put them on the baking sheet - then back in the sugar when they come out of the oven! My family eats them like popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Giles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this for a hispanic friend of mine. She never said how they were so..... My husband thought they were good. Update: My hispanic friend said these were wonderful! She said they brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are as good as my sister-in-laws SECRET RECIPE that she won't give out. My husband loves biscochitos and these won him over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved these cookies! Never heard of them until I was having a 1/2 way to Cinco de Mayo party and was looking at recipes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Very good sugar cookies with just a hint of licorice flavor! I couldn't find lard so I used butter instead and they still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Well, first off: Never send a man to do a womans job. :p My husband bought All Vegetable Shortnening instead of lard. Still, they came out DELICIOUS! I was told they come out better w/ lard, so i'll use that next time. Also, I used brandy, not pineapple juice like another suggested, but I did use PJ to moisten up the dough when needed. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States