Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I did not have any Brandy in the house ~ so I used instead 1/2 C.of red wine plus 1/2 C. of fresh squeezed orange juice (these ingredients are common variations to traditional biscochito recipe's instead of using Brandy), also I used Butter Flavor Crisco instead of Lard and they turned out really good! I have used Lard before and as I live in N.M.that might be the preferred old fashioned way to do it (which I have) but I think the Butter Crisco gives them a lightness in the batter. These cookies get dusted with cinnamon/sugar before AND after baking - cooled on a wire rack - I would highly recommend this recipe -I only tweaked it slightly but this recipe is A KEEPER!! Great Dunkers in coffee OR milk =] P.S. I DID sift the dry ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were very good! I used 1 tblsp brandy flavoring and used milk to make up for the rest of the liquid from the lack of brandy. I also added a little more anise because I know I like my biscochitos a little more anisey! :) Took me back home to Albuquerque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I am a vegetarian so i didn't use lard - i used butter instead and orange juice instead of brandy. they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYSVP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'd actually rate these closer to 5 stars if I made them with lard, but I just don't like the smell of lard, so I used shortening instead. As a native New Mexican, biscochitos mean Christmas to me. I never really knew how my grandma made her version, but these are pretty darn close. Delicious recipe- thanks for sharing! My only piece of advice is to not overwork the dough- biscochito dough is supposed to be crumbly and this one is- it seems like it needs more liquid, but don't add it- the crumbly dough leads to flaky delicious cookies. Also, I rolled mine in the cinnamon sugar after baking since that is what my grandmother always did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were yummy! I didn't have brandy so I used whiskey instead. The lard gives a distinct flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCattlemansWife
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made these for my son's baptism - wonderful! I used rum instead of brandy and 2 teaspoons of anise seed extract. I coated cookies in cinnamon/sugar before and after baking. You must make the cookies very thick, otherwise they will crack and break while you are coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is the same recipe I have used for 12 years now. Everyone loves them. One thing I do different is I put 1 or more cups of sugar in a shallow container with cinnamon to your liking and as I cut I put cookies in the mixture and give them a good dusting. You'll never go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very yummy but my batch was a little dry/crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful!!! Thank you Becky for the great recipe, these taste just like my grandma's cookies. instead of brandy i added vanilla with no anise seeds, and they tasted identical to hers. Again thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Gurule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Espanola, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These cookies were very good. Can't stop eatting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States