Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TheCattlemansWife
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made these for my son's baptism - wonderful! I used rum instead of brandy and 2 teaspoons of anise seed extract. I coated cookies in cinnamon/sugar before and after baking. You must make the cookies very thick, otherwise they will crack and break while you are coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is the same recipe I have used for 12 years now. Everyone loves them. One thing I do different is I put 1 or more cups of sugar in a shallow container with cinnamon to your liking and as I cut I put cookies in the mixture and give them a good dusting. You'll never go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very yummy but my batch was a little dry/crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful!!! Thank you Becky for the great recipe, these taste just like my grandma's cookies. instead of brandy i added vanilla with no anise seeds, and they tasted identical to hers. Again thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Gurule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Espanola, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These cookies were very good. Can't stop eatting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
DELICIOUS! I'm Latina... these cookies bring back memories of baking at Xmas with my Grandmother! A couple of suggestions: (1) Melt lard in the microwave before mixing it with sugar.... it keeps the dough more moist when rolling; (2) Use 1 Tablespoon of Anise Liquid instead of seeds; (3) at Xmas, coat w red & green sugar sprinkles instead of sugar & cinnamon; (4) Use bread flour instead of all purpose flour & ALWAYS sift it; (5) NEVER substitute Crisco, butter or Vegetable Oil for the lard. Notes: #2 - I don't like licorice but love these cookies. By using anise liquid instead of seeds, the taste spreads thru the cookie & isn't as overpowering! Even my Mexican family prefers them over my grandmother's own recipe with anise seeds! #4 -- Bread flour helps keep the cookie light like shortbread instead of dense & heavy. I have used wheat flour & it doesn't change flavor just texture. Don't forget to sift the flour as this too helps keep them light & flaky. #5 -- I know I know, the lard has 10,000 calories & it's all fat! But, the cookie is supposed to be flaky & a light shortbread consistency; you lose that texture with other shortenings & they become heavy & dense. I try to eat healthy & use Canola butter, wheat flour, splenda in recipes but this isn't one of them that works with substitutes. Eat them once or twice a year guilt free then get on the bike & do some cardio. Trust me, after 46 years of eating these cookies, you won't regret the indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Excellent cookies. Family and co-workers couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made these for my son cause he is doing new mexico as his state project we loved them! We used shotening we haven't used lard yet, is it better? but they are still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used crisco instead of lard, and these cookies were so DRY! The only thing that saved them was the massive amount of cinnamon-sugar. I don't want to give them a bad rating, though, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. We've got a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The dough came out very dry and so did the cookie. I made two batches, just to make sure I hadn't messed one up and the result was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States