Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made these for my son cause he is doing new mexico as his state project we loved them! We used shotening we haven't used lard yet, is it better? but they are still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used crisco instead of lard, and these cookies were so DRY! The only thing that saved them was the massive amount of cinnamon-sugar. I don't want to give them a bad rating, though, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. We've got a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The dough came out very dry and so did the cookie. I made two batches, just to make sure I hadn't messed one up and the result was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A little dry, but I loved the anise seed and cinnamon taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made these for my family but no one liked them because of the licorice flavor. Made a second time without anise seed and with pineapple juice, and rolled them into balls before baking because I just don't have the counter space to roll out dough. They were gone before the oven was cool. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
SIMPLE, QUICK & DELICIOUS! These were lovely. I whipped them up to take with us on an outing. I never knew lard-based cookies could taste sooooooooo good!. My family loved them. I cut up my dough with a pizza cutter to save time. But I got my daughter to roll them in the cinnamon sugar when they came out of the oven. I will make these again. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruzmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Im Happy to see someone finally have this recipe with lard and not butter or just shortening, the way its supose to be made. I have awesome memories of making these with my grandmother ( no rum ) lol I love it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe brought back memories of my grandmother! I loved them. They tasted just like the ones she made for us as children. My grandmothers recipes is almost exact except for a couple small details. Her recipe used only 1 C of sugar, and she used 3 eggs. She also used orange juice (I like to use OJ) or whiskey for the liquid. This is a keeper! My daughter loved cutting the cookies out and sprinkling them with cinnamon sugar. We used to dip them in Coffee when we were kids, I guess because that's what the grown ups did and I wanted to be "grown up" too... can I go back to being a kid now if I don't dip them in coffee? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because of the ease and the basic ingredients used. The cookies were quite good, the directions were clear and concise and the baking time was spot-on. However, I did not give them 5 stars because they are definitely not **quite** authentic. My sisters and I made these cookies to include in my welcome baskets for the guests attending my wedding in Santa Fe, NM and the recipe we used had about 15-20 ingredients and the cookies were MUCH more authentic tasting. I did not have most of the ingredients on-hand (or the time or desire!!) to duplicate that recipe. This is an easy, very quick recipe that will give you good results but is missing just a little **something**.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These weren't exactly like Grandma used to make, but they did take me back. Next time I'll add more anise. The dough got rather crumbly so I had to keep adding butter. This recipe's a keeper~~~I'll just tweek it to make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRIQFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States