Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Traditional "New Mexican" cookie for the holidays and special occasions. I was thrilled to see this "family recipe" in print. My copy was hand written by my great grandma and I remember cutting-out the cookies with my mother and dipping them in the cinnamon/sugar mixture before placing them in the oven to cook. I could never eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
We had a Mexican Fiesta on Christmas Eve and everyone really liked these cookies. They had a really nice, mild flavor, and were different from our usual sugar cookies. I didn't use brandy for the kids - 7UP was a great substitute. I assumed the anise seed was supposed to be whole, and that also worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
What a treat! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's been a friend's family secret for years, and I've only been able to enjoy their cookies over Christmas. I love family recipes most because you can taste the love. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a lovely recipe. You just have to be sure to start with soft shortening and cream it well with the other wet ingredients. Because I read the other reviews before trying the recipe, I added extra anise seed (3tsp) (crushed in a mortar/pestle), some anise extract (1tsp) because I felt my anise seeds were a little old. Lovely texture and my 3 y/o loved them and he's very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I logged on to locate a cookie that involed childhhod memories. Imagine my surprise when I found it. Further imagine my absolute delight when I read that Paricia's mother shared her name with my mom. My mother is named Margaret Miera and my best friend is a Romero. How great is that! To top it off the recipe is perfect, delicious and now a tradition of my family for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My grandmother (from Taos) would make these for our family every christmas. Unfrotunatly my grandmother passed away before she could share the magic of our favorite cookie. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I got my first recipe for these wonderful cookies from Spanish class in highschool. I have since lost that recipe. This one is way better though. Even though it's time-consuming and the dough takes some work, it's well worth it. They're great for the holidays, especially for coffee drinkers. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Recipe is very authentic, turned out super!! My mom said they tasted like my great grandma Mary's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I maded these for Christmas 2005 for all my native Colorado/New Mexico family. These loved these and everyone took some home. They taste like shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These cookies are delicious. They are lightly sweet, and the combination of anise seed and cinnamon sugar make them pretty different. They take a bit of work to make, but the end result is certainly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States