Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I had hoped to find a traditional New Mexican biscochitos recipe and was excited to try this one. Unfortunately, the dough was impossible to roll out and I had to take extra time I didn't really have to roll dough into individual balls and press with a glass to flatten. I think due to this extra handling, the cookies turned out tougher than they should be. The biscochitos recipe I had made in the past resulted in very buttery, fine-textured cookies- these were hard and crumbly. I took care not to over-bake, and followed the recipe to a "T". Also, it should be noted that this recipe makes FAR more than 3 dozen cookies. I think I ended up with 6 dozen cookies or more. I do not recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I live in New Mexico and these are the best Biscochito cookies I have ever had!!! I have made them for the last few years at Christmas and told my firends/famliy I only had time to make one kind of Cookie and this is the one they ALL picked. I use real butter and double the anise seeds (which isn't really nesseccary). !Muy Bueno! -- Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe was not the best. I have another recipe which I wish I would of used, but instead I tried this one because the ratings seemed high. I will never use this one again. I had to add water to make the dough form. It was so dry and crumbling, I had to add water to make the dough form. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a lovely recipe. You just have to be sure to start with soft shortening and cream it well with the other wet ingredients. Because I read the other reviews before trying the recipe, I added extra anise seed (3tsp) (crushed in a mortar/pestle), some anise extract (1tsp) because I felt my anise seeds were a little old. Lovely texture and my 3 y/o loved them and he's very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We love it! The only recipe, I have to make every year, and I don´t switch indgrediants(as I usually do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
We had a Mexican Fiesta on Christmas Eve and everyone really liked these cookies. They had a really nice, mild flavor, and were different from our usual sugar cookies. I didn't use brandy for the kids - 7UP was a great substitute. I assumed the anise seed was supposed to be whole, and that also worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I logged on to locate a cookie that involed childhhod memories. Imagine my surprise when I found it. Further imagine my absolute delight when I read that Paricia's mother shared her name with my mom. My mother is named Margaret Miera and my best friend is a Romero. How great is that! To top it off the recipe is perfect, delicious and now a tradition of my family for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
What a treat! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's been a friend's family secret for years, and I've only been able to enjoy their cookies over Christmas. I love family recipes most because you can taste the love. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Traditional "New Mexican" cookie for the holidays and special occasions. I was thrilled to see this "family recipe" in print. My copy was hand written by my great grandma and I remember cutting-out the cookies with my mother and dipping them in the cinnamon/sugar mixture before placing them in the oven to cook. I could never eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made these for a fiesta themed christmas eve dinner. They were just a tad bland but good. I liked them better after they had sat and absorbed more of the anise flavor. Good for freezing and I also used my cookie press which worked great and was really simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States