Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is almost identical to the one I have been using for years. With one exception. Actually, two. I never use brandy or wine. Mostly because I never seem to have it on hand when I need it. I just use water. The biggest difference is that I have gone back to using 1 lb of lard, which is the "most" traditional. In an attempt to ameliorate bad fat impact, I had tried margarine (both regular and diet), butter, crisco and butter flavored crisco. They just don't have the result that lard gives. It is a firm, crumbly cookie - not crisp or "chewy" - much like a Pecan Sandie in texture. I roll the dough out and use a bottle lid to cut bite size cookies so I always end up with waaaay more than 3 dozen cookies. I gave up years ago using fancy cuts since the star or angel or whatever always got misshapen in transferring it to the cookie sheet. I press the rounds into a cinnamon sugar mixture and then lay them on a cookie sheet. Keep in mind that humidity levels can affect the amount of liquid you need. When I got my recipe over 60 years ago, it said "1/4 C, more or less as needed, of brandy" so I already knew to adjust liquid levels as needed. Pat Quinto Kemm Mann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very dry. Being Native New Mexican, very disappointed in this recipe. Think it is too much flour. Even added an extra egg to the 6 cups but still very dry. I know this is supposed to be a "dry" cookie, but this was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
this recipe was okay, my dough was really dry and crumbly, it would not hold together. I followed the directions for the recipe exactly and the cookies ended up being really dry and fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is the closest recipe I know to the original "Grandma Sofia Biscochitos!" I did not use lard, instead I used Crisco butter flavored sticks. That's what made it buttery all right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mogotecoyote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Traditional Biscochitos are made with lard not shortening they come out so much better and flakier, made with the tridational lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe, absolutely loved it! I did not have anise and substituted with Mexican vanilla "Molina" and also substituted brandy with fresh orange juice and added the orange zest. Baked for 10 minutes and they came out heavenly soft and delicious!!!! Thank you for this recipe, it is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Absolutely what I was looking for! Used to get these as a kid at the local Mexican bakeries here in Washington state (very few). Made a similar recipe for my brothers wedding then lost it! This one was a bit different but fabulous. I was hesitant about the whole anise seed so I ground it instead, then accidently put 2 Tbsp rather than the 2 tsp, the flavor was heavenly!!!! I also prefer to bake them plain then toss gently in a bowl of cinnamon & sugar. The texture was devine. I LOVE, LOVE this recipe and will take these tonight to my family's Christmas eve gathering....they will be a great ending after eating tamales all night! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We love it! The only recipe, I have to make every year, and I don´t switch indgrediants(as I usually do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great authentic Mexican Christmas cookie that brought back memories of making them with mi abuela from Southern Colorado.... the Maes & Martinez family love them! We had a few slight modifications: 1. Use 1 T of anise liquid instead of anise seed to make the taste more uniform & subtle. 2. ALWAYS use lard as it keeps the cookie light like shortbread. We melt it in the microwave then refrigerate the dough for about 30 mins before rolling the cookies. 3. We also dust them in red or green sugar sprinkles for Xmas tree or reindeer shapes, or orange pumpkin shapes at Halloween ... just as good. 4. I use bread flour & sift it 3 times which seems to help keep them really light & airy. 5. For newbies, these cookies are supposed to be thick... don't roll the dough out too thin & cook them til they are a light golden brown on bottom. Both my Latino family & gringo friends love these cookies. I usually end up making around 10 batches at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I lost the recipe I used for years and tried this one. I don't recommend it. They don't melt in your mouth the way they're supposed to and are lacking in flavor. BTW, Biscochitos are the traditional cookie of NM, not just Taos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States