Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I had hoped to find a traditional New Mexican biscochitos recipe and was excited to try this one. Unfortunately, the dough was impossible to roll out and I had to take extra time I didn't really have to roll dough into individual balls and press with a glass to flatten. I think due to this extra handling, the cookies turned out tougher than they should be. The biscochitos recipe I had made in the past resulted in very buttery, fine-textured cookies- these were hard and crumbly. I took care not to over-bake, and followed the recipe to a "T". Also, it should be noted that this recipe makes FAR more than 3 dozen cookies. I think I ended up with 6 dozen cookies or more. I do not recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I live in New Mexico and these are the best Biscochito cookies I have ever had!!! I have made them for the last few years at Christmas and told my firends/famliy I only had time to make one kind of Cookie and this is the one they ALL picked. I use real butter and double the anise seeds (which isn't really nesseccary). !Muy Bueno! -- Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe was not the best. I have another recipe which I wish I would of used, but instead I tried this one because the ratings seemed high. I will never use this one again. I had to add water to make the dough form. It was so dry and crumbling, I had to add water to make the dough form. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a lovely recipe. You just have to be sure to start with soft shortening and cream it well with the other wet ingredients. Because I read the other reviews before trying the recipe, I added extra anise seed (3tsp) (crushed in a mortar/pestle), some anise extract (1tsp) because I felt my anise seeds were a little old. Lovely texture and my 3 y/o loved them and he's very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We love it! The only recipe, I have to make every year, and I don´t switch indgrediants(as I usually do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
We had a Mexican Fiesta on Christmas Eve and everyone really liked these cookies. They had a really nice, mild flavor, and were different from our usual sugar cookies. I didn't use brandy for the kids - 7UP was a great substitute. I assumed the anise seed was supposed to be whole, and that also worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I logged on to locate a cookie that involed childhhod memories. Imagine my surprise when I found it. Further imagine my absolute delight when I read that Paricia's mother shared her name with my mom. My mother is named Margaret Miera and my best friend is a Romero. How great is that! To top it off the recipe is perfect, delicious and now a tradition of my family for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
What a treat! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's been a friend's family secret for years, and I've only been able to enjoy their cookies over Christmas. I love family recipes most because you can taste the love. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Traditional "New Mexican" cookie for the holidays and special occasions. I was thrilled to see this "family recipe" in print. My copy was hand written by my great grandma and I remember cutting-out the cookies with my mother and dipping them in the cinnamon/sugar mixture before placing them in the oven to cook. I could never eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made these for a fiesta themed christmas eve dinner. They were just a tad bland but good. I liked them better after they had sat and absorbed more of the anise flavor. Good for freezing and I also used my cookie press which worked great and was really simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States