Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made these for a fiesta themed christmas eve dinner. They were just a tad bland but good. I liked them better after they had sat and absorbed more of the anise flavor. Good for freezing and I also used my cookie press which worked great and was really simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
My cookies turned out a little harded than I like. So I sealed them in a contained with two slices of apple and it softened them. Next time I make then I will use more anise seed maybe 3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I had hoped to find a traditional New Mexican biscochitos recipe and was excited to try this one. Unfortunately, the dough was impossible to roll out and I had to take extra time I didn't really have to roll dough into individual balls and press with a glass to flatten. I think due to this extra handling, the cookies turned out tougher than they should be. The biscochitos recipe I had made in the past resulted in very buttery, fine-textured cookies- these were hard and crumbly. I took care not to over-bake, and followed the recipe to a "T". Also, it should be noted that this recipe makes FAR more than 3 dozen cookies. I think I ended up with 6 dozen cookies or more. I do not recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I logged on to locate a cookie that involed childhhod memories. Imagine my surprise when I found it. Further imagine my absolute delight when I read that Paricia's mother shared her name with my mom. My mother is named Margaret Miera and my best friend is a Romero. How great is that! To top it off the recipe is perfect, delicious and now a tradition of my family for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Recipe is very authentic, turned out super!! My mom said they tasted like my great grandma Mary's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe was not the best. I have another recipe which I wish I would of used, but instead I tried this one because the ratings seemed high. I will never use this one again. I had to add water to make the dough form. It was so dry and crumbling, I had to add water to make the dough form. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
What a treat! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's been a friend's family secret for years, and I've only been able to enjoy their cookies over Christmas. I love family recipes most because you can taste the love. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
We had a Mexican Fiesta on Christmas Eve and everyone really liked these cookies. They had a really nice, mild flavor, and were different from our usual sugar cookies. I didn't use brandy for the kids - 7UP was a great substitute. I assumed the anise seed was supposed to be whole, and that also worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I really liked the flavor of these cookies. The anise seed and cinnamon area nice combination. Since I didn't have a trefoil cookie cutter, I used a cookie press with three holes. Worked very well and was very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I got my first recipe for these wonderful cookies from Spanish class in highschool. I have since lost that recipe. This one is way better though. Even though it's time-consuming and the dough takes some work, it's well worth it. They're great for the holidays, especially for coffee drinkers. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States