Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
COULD SOMEONE PLEASE POST HOW TO PRONOUNCE THE NAME OF THESE COOKIES...THEY ARE SO GOOD I HATE TO BUTCHER THE NAME WHEN SHARING WITH OTHERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My grandmother (from Taos) would make these for our family every christmas. Unfrotunatly my grandmother passed away before she could share the magic of our favorite cookie. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a lovely recipe. You just have to be sure to start with soft shortening and cream it well with the other wet ingredients. Because I read the other reviews before trying the recipe, I added extra anise seed (3tsp) (crushed in a mortar/pestle), some anise extract (1tsp) because I felt my anise seeds were a little old. Lovely texture and my 3 y/o loved them and he's very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These cookies are delicious. They are lightly sweet, and the combination of anise seed and cinnamon sugar make them pretty different. They take a bit of work to make, but the end result is certainly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I maded these for Christmas 2005 for all my native Colorado/New Mexico family. These loved these and everyone took some home. They taste like shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These cookies were kind of bland. I made a glaze for them with confectioners sugar, 1/2 teaspoon anise extract, about 4 or 5 tablespoons of brandy, and a little milk. They now taste the way I imagined they were supposed to, but they are much more messy now :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
True to the New Mexico tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made these for a fiesta themed christmas eve dinner. They were just a tad bland but good. I liked them better after they had sat and absorbed more of the anise flavor. Good for freezing and I also used my cookie press which worked great and was really simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
My cookies turned out a little harded than I like. So I sealed them in a contained with two slices of apple and it softened them. Next time I make then I will use more anise seed maybe 3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I had hoped to find a traditional New Mexican biscochitos recipe and was excited to try this one. Unfortunately, the dough was impossible to roll out and I had to take extra time I didn't really have to roll dough into individual balls and press with a glass to flatten. I think due to this extra handling, the cookies turned out tougher than they should be. The biscochitos recipe I had made in the past resulted in very buttery, fine-textured cookies- these were hard and crumbly. I took care not to over-bake, and followed the recipe to a "T". Also, it should be noted that this recipe makes FAR more than 3 dozen cookies. I think I ended up with 6 dozen cookies or more. I do not recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States