Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Traditionally, biscochitos are made with lard, not shortening. If you want the authentic, traditional biscochito, you must use lard. As for the issue of cutting out the brandy because of the kids, alcohol evaporates when baked, and only the flavor remains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Made these tasty little cookies...easy, very good flavor. I made them for my daughter-in-law...Mexican...she got pregnant and could not eat them.. I might use powdered sugar instead next time just to see how that affects the outer coating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knightstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I made these with friends and they were a hit. I added extra cinnamon into the dough for more flavor. I rolled out to about 1/2" thickness and made sure not to overbake. We did leaf shapes for fall last time and they turned out great! Pronounced biz-ko-CHEE-toes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMMYSAUCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
COULD SOMEONE PLEASE POST HOW TO PRONOUNCE THE NAME OF THESE COOKIES...THEY ARE SO GOOD I HATE TO BUTCHER THE NAME WHEN SHARING WITH OTHERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My grandmother (from Taos) would make these for our family every christmas. Unfrotunatly my grandmother passed away before she could share the magic of our favorite cookie. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is a lovely recipe. You just have to be sure to start with soft shortening and cream it well with the other wet ingredients. Because I read the other reviews before trying the recipe, I added extra anise seed (3tsp) (crushed in a mortar/pestle), some anise extract (1tsp) because I felt my anise seeds were a little old. Lovely texture and my 3 y/o loved them and he's very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These cookies are delicious. They are lightly sweet, and the combination of anise seed and cinnamon sugar make them pretty different. They take a bit of work to make, but the end result is certainly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I maded these for Christmas 2005 for all my native Colorado/New Mexico family. These loved these and everyone took some home. They taste like shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These cookies were kind of bland. I made a glaze for them with confectioners sugar, 1/2 teaspoon anise extract, about 4 or 5 tablespoons of brandy, and a little milk. They now taste the way I imagined they were supposed to, but they are much more messy now :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
True to the New Mexico tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States