Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Traditional "New Mexican" cookie for the holidays and special occasions. I was thrilled to see this "family recipe" in print. My copy was hand written by my great grandma and I remember cutting-out the cookies with my mother and dipping them in the cinnamon/sugar mixture before placing them in the oven to cook. I could never eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made these for our thanksgiving feast and were well liked by my picky sister. I used a maple leaf cutter and when sprinkled with the cinnamon sugar, they looked like fall leaves.I personally thought they were okay, probably not for every one.The dough is a little tricky to work with, but they did look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I got my first recipe for these wonderful cookies from Spanish class in highschool. I have since lost that recipe. This one is way better though. Even though it's time-consuming and the dough takes some work, it's well worth it. They're great for the holidays, especially for coffee drinkers. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I really liked the flavor of these cookies. The anise seed and cinnamon area nice combination. Since I didn't have a trefoil cookie cutter, I used a cookie press with three holes. Worked very well and was very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
We had a Mexican Fiesta on Christmas Eve and everyone really liked these cookies. They had a really nice, mild flavor, and were different from our usual sugar cookies. I didn't use brandy for the kids - 7UP was a great substitute. I assumed the anise seed was supposed to be whole, and that also worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
What a treat! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's been a friend's family secret for years, and I've only been able to enjoy their cookies over Christmas. I love family recipes most because you can taste the love. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe was not the best. I have another recipe which I wish I would of used, but instead I tried this one because the ratings seemed high. I will never use this one again. I had to add water to make the dough form. It was so dry and crumbling, I had to add water to make the dough form. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Recipe is very authentic, turned out super!! My mom said they tasted like my great grandma Mary's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I logged on to locate a cookie that involed childhhod memories. Imagine my surprise when I found it. Further imagine my absolute delight when I read that Paricia's mother shared her name with my mom. My mother is named Margaret Miera and my best friend is a Romero. How great is that! To top it off the recipe is perfect, delicious and now a tradition of my family for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I had hoped to find a traditional New Mexican biscochitos recipe and was excited to try this one. Unfortunately, the dough was impossible to roll out and I had to take extra time I didn't really have to roll dough into individual balls and press with a glass to flatten. I think due to this extra handling, the cookies turned out tougher than they should be. The biscochitos recipe I had made in the past resulted in very buttery, fine-textured cookies- these were hard and crumbly. I took care not to over-bake, and followed the recipe to a "T". Also, it should be noted that this recipe makes FAR more than 3 dozen cookies. I think I ended up with 6 dozen cookies or more. I do not recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States