Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We love it! The only recipe, I have to make every year, and I don´t switch indgrediants(as I usually do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great authentic Mexican Christmas cookie that brought back memories of making them with mi abuela from Southern Colorado.... the Maes & Martinez family love them! We had a few slight modifications: 1. Use 1 T of anise liquid instead of anise seed to make the taste more uniform & subtle. 2. ALWAYS use lard as it keeps the cookie light like shortbread. We melt it in the microwave then refrigerate the dough for about 30 mins before rolling the cookies. 3. We also dust them in red or green sugar sprinkles for Xmas tree or reindeer shapes, or orange pumpkin shapes at Halloween ... just as good. 4. I use bread flour & sift it 3 times which seems to help keep them really light & airy. 5. For newbies, these cookies are supposed to be thick... don't roll the dough out too thin & cook them til they are a light golden brown on bottom. Both my Latino family & gringo friends love these cookies. I usually end up making around 10 batches at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I lost the recipe I used for years and tried this one. I don't recommend it. They don't melt in your mouth the way they're supposed to and are lacking in flavor. BTW, Biscochitos are the traditional cookie of NM, not just Taos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe! For all who have had problems, it is a user error. I was born and raised in New Mexico and have watched my grandmother and mother make these for over 30 years, and the only difference is that my grandmother used LARD. My mom has used Crisco for many years now, and honestly we cannot tell the difference. Believe you me though, I bet our cholesterol levels can! Anyway, I have used this recipe and love the way they come out, taste just like my moms! Thank you for the recipe, as I needed to have the ingredients broken down into measurements for me. My mom does not measure when baking these cookies, a true Biscochito maker does not have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALASKA GIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These were better than expected! An interesting flavored-shortbread style cookie. I had no shortening used all butter. Had no anise seed used fennel seed. The family DEVOURED them! The key to tenderness is to not overwork the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was craving my childhood favorite and decided to try this one. Since I never in my life remember using shortening, I substituted lard for the shortening and then realized I didn't have brandy so I used Jack Daniels...still came out great! (according to many co-workers as well)My semi vegitarian friend didn't like the lard and may have preferred the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I followed this recipe to the "T"! I even bought a brand new jar of brandy! They were not good! ...very sad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Easy to make! Great taste! I substituted Kahlua for the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I live in New Mexico and these are the best Biscochito cookies I have ever had!!! I have made them for the last few years at Christmas and told my firends/famliy I only had time to make one kind of Cookie and this is the one they ALL picked. I use real butter and double the anise seeds (which isn't really nesseccary). !Muy Bueno! -- Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe was a blast from the past. My Grandmother, Grace Miera, used to send us these cookies every Christmas. As she has now passed away, I was desperately looking for this recipe. My grandfather, Edmund, was unable to locate it. When I found this recipe with the Miera name referenced in the description, I knew I found it. This recipe brought back alot of memories and wonderful taste. I did alter the recipe slightly using lard instead of shorteneing as this is a traditional Mexican cookie. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States